FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Time-to-Run > Country and General Discussion > USA
Home Forums Downloads Blogs
Time-to-Run on FacebookFollow TimetoRun on Twitter Running InformationUSA RunningRunning South AfricaRunning New ZealandRunning UKRunning CanadaRunning IrelandDeutsch LaufzeitRunning DenmarkSverige LöpningRunning FinlandTel Aviv Marathon Running Australia Running KenyaRunning EuropeRunning MaltaRunning NamibiaDonate for Training Advice
USA US news and information

Quigley, Lewy Boulet Win New Haven 20K

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
TheEd's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
USA Quigley, Lewy Boulet Win New Haven 20K

Sean Quigley (Philadelphia, Pa.) and Magdalena Lewy Boulet (Oakland, Calif.) took the men's and women's titles Monday at the USA 20K Championships hosted again by the Stratton Faxon New Haven Road Race. Quigley, 25, ran 59 minutes, 21 seconds to win by eight seconds over Mo Trafeh (Duarte, Calif.), while Boulet, 37, cruised home in 1:07:41 for a 45 second win over Stephanie Rothstein (Flagstaff, Ariz.).

At the 33rd race edition, warm, sunny skies met more than 2,300 runners as a pack of 15 men led the field through a relaxed opening mile of 4:52. The lead pack included defending champion Brett Gotcher (Flagstaff, Ariz.), Ben Bruce (Eugene, Ore.), James Carney (Flagstaff, Ariz.), Patrick Smyth (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.), Justin Young (Superior, Colo.) plus Quigley.

As the pace steadily picked up, the main pack remained largely intact with various contenders taking a turn at the lead. By seven miles, Young had taken charge of the lead pack as it was reduced to Carney, Smyth, Quigley and Trafeh.

Young made several surges, gaining as much as five meters on his rivals only to have the gap closed each time. As the pack raced down the final hill on the course past ten miles, Trafeh, the 2010 USA 15K champion, made his bid for another national title. Opening a 15 meter lead, the race looked to be his but Carney and Quigley fought their way back, catching Trafeh.

At 11 miles, the race looked to be Carney's as he opened a five meter lead but a half mile later Quigley made his move and steadily pulled away to take his first USA title. Trafeh held on for second, running 59:29, as Carney took third in 59:33. Young held on for third in 59:45 while Smyth rounded out the top-five in 59:54.

In the women's race, 2008 Olympian Lewy Boulet took charge of the lead pack early with a group of six that included Rothstein, Amy Hastings (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.), Tera Moody (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Clara Grandt (West Union, W.V.) and Nan Kennard (Broomfield, Colo.).

After seven miles, Lewy Boulet steadily pulled away from the field, capturing her first U.S. title of 2010 (and second overall). Rothstein finished 45 seconds later to take the runner-up spot in 1:08:26, while newcomer Kennard took third in 1:08:38. Grandt and Moody took fourth and fifth in 1:09:02 and 1:09:38 respectively.

The USA 20K Championships was the eighth stop for men and the sixth for women on the 2010 USA Running Circuit (USARC) and paid $40,000 in U.S. prize money with Quigley and Lewy Boulet each taking home $8000 each as national champions.

The USARC, a USA Track & Field road series, features USA Championships from one mile to the marathon and attracts the best U.S. distance runners. The circuit features ten events each for men and women. Antonio Vega (Minneapolis, Minn.) leads the men's standings with 44 points, while Lewy Boulet's win gives her the women's lead with 31 points.

Highlights of the USA 20K Championships are available in cooperation with RunnerSpace.com at: www.USARunningCircuit.com

33rd Stratton Faxon New Haven Road Race: USA 20K Championships
New Haven, CT, Monday, September 6, 2010

1) Sean Quigley (PA), 59:21, $8000
2) Mohamed Trafeh (CA), 59:29, $4500
3) James Carney (AZ), 59:33, $2500
4) Justin Young (CO), 59:45, $1500
5) Patrick Smyth (CA) 59:54, $1000
6) Ben Bruce (OR), 59:59, $700
7) Brett Gotcher (AZ), 1:00:21, $600
8) Jason Hartmann (OR), 1:00:44, $500
9) Mike Sayenko (WA), 1:01:00, $400
10) Patrick Rizzo (CO), 1:01:18, $300

1) Magdalena Lewy Boulet (CA), 1:07:41, $8000
2) Stephanie Rothstein (AZ), 1:08:26, $4500
3) Nan Kennard (CO), 1:08:38, $2500
4) Clara Grandt (WV), 1:09:02, $1500
5) Tera Moody (CO), 1:09:38, $1000
6) Loretta Kilmer (NY), 1:09:43, $700
7) Amy Hastings (CA), 1:09:52, $600
8) Kristen Fryburg-Zaitz (CO), 1:09:56, $500
9) Colleen De Reuck, 46, CO, 1:10:23, $400
10) Heidi Westover (NH), 1:10:49, $300
TheEd is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back  Time-to-Run > Country and General Discussion > USA

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Recent Threads
PB Yesterday - next race 27/10
08-10-2018 08:20 AM
Last post by astrange
06-12-2018 11:37 PM
18 Replies, 2,894 Views
coming off base phase/when to up the...
13-11-2012 10:21 AM
Last post by TheEd
02-12-2018 12:00 PM
1,087 Replies, 529,423 Views
Sub 45 Min 10k Goal - Advice much...
07-11-2018 11:18 AM
Last post by TheEd
02-12-2018 11:58 AM
9 Replies, 1,142 Views
Sub 35
27-12-2011 12:01 AM
by jamieh
Last post by TheEd
13-11-2018 01:54 PM
649 Replies, 307,234 Views
Sub 45min 10k program - 4 run per week...
16-01-2016 11:28 AM
Last post by TheEd
29-10-2018 01:57 PM
24 Replies, 29,459 Views
How to lose three minutes and three...
04-07-2018 09:14 AM
Last post by TheEd
05-10-2018 09:18 AM
29 Replies, 5,892 Views
» Recent Blogs
Racing her first 10k races
18-09-2014 01:16 PM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
18-09-2014 01:16 PM
0 Replies, 60,648 Views
Intro to the athlete, MrsDuck
11-08-2014 11:16 AM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
11-08-2014 11:16 AM
0 Replies, 54,765 Views
Steve Jones Record
13-04-2014 12:46 PM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
13-04-2014 12:46 PM
0 Replies, 52,873 Views
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2008 - 2018 Time-to-Run All Rights Reserved