Running Headquarters  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Español Consecutivo      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

New York Completes 2009-2010 World Marathon Majors Series

NEW YORK CITY, November 7, 2010 – The running of the 41st ING New York City Marathon marked the official conclusion of the 2009-2010 World Marathon Majors series. The overall series standings remained largely unchanged with Kenya’s Sammy Wanjiru and Russia’s Liliya Shobukhova having both taken insurmountable leads after victories at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon last month. However, New York City race champions Gebre Gebremariam of Ethiopia and Edna Kiplagat of Kenya added their names to the mix with their 25-point efforts.

Gebremariam, running his marathon debut, out-dueled veteran Emmanuel Mutai of Kenya to be the first across the finish line in Central Park in 2:08:14. Gebremariam’s victory puts him in a three-way tie for ninth in the 2009-2010 WMM series standings with his first-ever WMM points. Mutai (2:09:18) climbed from fourth to third in the series standings with 50 points. His second place finish was his third in a row at a WMM event – he was runner-up at the 2010 Virgin London Marathon and the silver medalist at the 2009 IAAF World Championship Marathon.

Kiplagat, running in her first New York City Marathon, beat a pair of marathon rookies, Shalane Flanagan of the U.S. and Mary Keitany of Kenya, with a strong finish in Central Park. Kiplagat’s winning time of 2:28:20 was 20 seconds ahead of runner-up Flanagan (2:28:40) and 41 seconds ahead of third place finisher Keitany (2:29:01). Kiplagat’s 25 points are the first WMM points of her career, launching her into a six-way tie for fifth in the final 2009-2010 WMM series standings.

Series champions Wanjiru and Shobukhova will be honored tomorrow at a World Marathon Majors banquet in New York City where they will be awarded with their $500,000 USD first place prizes.

2009-2010 World Marathon Majors Series Top 5:

Top 5 Men
Place       Name                     Country   Point Total
1             Samuel Wanjiru       KEN       75
2             Tesgaye Kebede      ETH        65
3             Emmanuel Mutai      KEN       50
4             Deriba Merga           ETH        35
5             Jaouad Gharib         MAR       30

Top 5 Women
Place      Name                      Country   Point Total
1             Liliya Shobukhova    RUS       85
2             Irina Mikitenko         GER       41
3             Salina Kosgei          KEN       36
4             Teyba Erkesso        ETH        30
5             Xue Bai                   CHN       25
5             Bezunesh Bekele     ETH       25
5             Atsede Habtamu      ETH        25
5             Aberu Kebede          ETH        25
5             Edna Kiplagat          KEN        25
5             Derartu Tulu             ETH        25

Speak Your Mind