Running Information Forums
Improving 10k training with advice - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Improving 10k training with advice (/Thread-Improving-10k-training-with-advice)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Improving 10k training with advice - martz - 03-07-2014

Hi Ed,

I was very impress when reading through other people's post and your comments to keep people motivated. So I thought, I give it a shot.

Information about me:
Male
23 years old
Very short 162cm tall
58kg
Resting Heart Rate - 48 BPM
Maximum Heart Rate - 202 BPM

Personal Best:
5km: 00:23:36 (Dec 2013)
10km: 00:48:08 (April 2014)
Half-Marathon: 01:47:40 (May 2014)

I've been running for 4 years. At the moment, I'm injured my left knee (ITB friction syndrome) for almost 2 months just before I finished my half-marathon in May and currently in contact with a physiotherapy and only re-introduce to running just a few weeks ago. Currently I'm running on a modified running program given by my physiotherapy. I have lots of injures related to running in the past especially when my time improves and I end up getting too carried away with training. So I was hoping your advice also helps control my eager from over-training. So, what is your recommendation? Let me know if you need more information.

Cheers,

Improving 10k training with advice - martz - 03-07-2014

Here is my run I did during the week so far. These are my running modified by my physiotherapy. Both of my running felt very easy except I still felt a dull sharp pain on my left knee when I hit 8km during my 10km easy run.

29th June - 10km Easy Run
Time - 01:04:02
AHR - 146 BPM
Temperature - 13C

1st July - 5km Easy Run
Time - 00:31:14
AHR - 144 BPM
Temperature - 12C