FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Time-to-Run > Country and General Discussion > New Zealand
Home Forums Downloads Blogs
Time-to-Run on FacebookFollow TimetoRun on Twitter Running InformationUSA RunningRunning South AfricaRunning New ZealandRunning UKRunning CanadaRunning IrelandDeutsch LaufzeitRunning DenmarkSverige LöpningRunning FinlandTel Aviv Marathon Running Australia Running KenyaRunning EuropeRunning MaltaRunning NamibiaDonate for Training Advice
New Zealand NZ News

New Zealand local news ending 25th June 2012

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-06-2012, 01:15 PM   #1
TheEd's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
NZ New Zealand local news ending 25th June 2012

North Harbour Cross Country, Long Bay Reserve – 23 June 2012

National junior 10,000m record holder Aaron Pulford of Hamilton overcame his nervousness to trounce the best of Auckland’s cross country runners at the annual North Harbour event.

The 20 year old from Thames worked his way clear of pace setter Brent Henley and went on to record 12m 19s for the 4000m, eight seconds ahead of Stephen Lett. Alex Parlane was third in 12m 30s.

Pulford said he was scared going into the race.

“I was real nervous before it started because I’ve been off the racing scene for ages – I could hardly tie my shoe laces up,” said Pulford.

“I heard Brent Henley takes off real fast, but when he took off it actually didn’t feel I was going that fast so I stuck to him. I was feeling really easy so I put a bit of a surge in and he dropped off,” he added.

Pulford now looks forward to a bold showing over half a marathon on the Gold Coast on Sunday.

First year senior Annika Pfitzinger notched up a notable victory in the women’s 4000m. The national junior 1500m champion took the lead after the initial 2000m circuit and was fully in command through to the finish. Pfitzinger clocked 14m 18s, 29 seconds faster than Sophie Corbidge. Samantha Blanch was third.

“I didn’t feel amazing warming up but after a conservative start I felt comfortable and able to eventually split away,” said Pfitzinger.

Declan Wilson won the M19 4000m in 12m 44s, Georgie Grgec the W19 in 15m 18s, David Lee the M16 in 13m 19s and Jessica Morrison the W16 2000m in 7m 7s.

Melanie Cossar and Rachel Penney staged a great finish to the master women both credited with 15m 20s. Andrew Kilding was the best of the master men in 13m 17s.

Mini Meeting, Mt Smart Stadium – 23 June 2012
Isaac Tatoa 100m 10.96s (+0.4). 200m Frazer Wickes 21.16s (+1.4), Tama Toki 21.29s, Dalton Coppins 21.78s. Race 2; Toki 21.00s (+1.0) Coppins 21.34s. 300m; Liam Mitchell 34.98s.
Results from 15 June 2012 at Mt Smart; 800m Brad Mathas 1m 50.5s, Ben Moynihan 1m 51.8s, Seton Hill 1m 53.7s. 22 June 2012; Joshua Hawkins 110m hurdles 990mm 13.99s (+2.7), 1067mm Brent Newdick 14.87s (+2.7), 100m hurdles 840mm Zoe Ballantyne 14.70s (+2.7). 200m Tama Toki 20.98s (+3.9). 110m hurdles 990mm Joshua Hawkins 14.07s (+0.9) better than the NZ M18 record and just 0.01s outside NZ M19 record. 1067mm Newdick 15.00s (+0.9).
Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 20 June: Cy Winstanley 17m 28s, Mark Blake 17m 36s, David Matulovich 17m 39s. Adele Thorpe 21m 20s.

Manawatu/Wanganui Cross Country Championships – 23 June 2012
Winners were: SM 10km David Lovelock (Pal/Nth) 39m 12s; SW 8km Kim Whyte (Wanganui) 49m 29s; MM 10km David Walters (Feilding) 43m 47s; MW 5km Lisa Kuhnert (Feilding) 22m 33s; M20 8km Antoine Bonnet (Wanganui Collegiate) 28m 38s; W20 6km Georgia Black (Wanganui) 26m 24s; B17 4km Christian Conder (Wanganui) 16m 41s; G17 3km Raquel Lopez (Feilding) 16m 6s.

3 Peaks Series, Race 2, Mt Victoria/Tawa Tawa Reserve/Hawkins Hill – 17 June 2012

James Coubrough was the fastest in 1h 42m, with Tim Hodge and Stephen Day both recording 1h 45m. Angela Leck was around the peaks in 1h 52m, Marjolein Ros 1h 59m and Sophie Lee 2h 1m

Anglican Block Relay, Spencer Park – 23 June 2012

Fastest teams were: senior men Sumner, senior women University of Canterbury, master men and master women Canterbury Tri Club, junior men and women Sumner.

Fastest 5km laps: senior men Mike Philips Univ Cant 17m 46s, senior women Flora Brocherie Univ Cant 19m 20s, master men Carsten Jorgenson Sumner 17m 35s, master women Leonie Kaywood Cant Tri 21m 22s, junior men Matt Dryden Chch Avon 18m 18s, junior women Rosa Flanagan Univ Cant 19m 9s.

Rosebank Lodge Balclutha Half Marathon – 24 June 2012

Mike Wakelin who won in 2008 and 2009 returned for another victory over defending champion Jason Palmer.

Shireen Crumpton won the women’s half in 1h 19m 30s, 20 seonds ahead of Tamsyn Hayes.
TheEd is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back  Time-to-Run > Country and General Discussion > New Zealand

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Recent Threads
coming off base phase/when to up the...
13-11-2012 10:21 AM
Last post by JonathanWardley
22-05-2019 01:42 AM
1,115 Replies, 593,846 Views
To race is but a dream...
04-10-2011 09:45 PM
Last post by shadydaz
21-05-2019 07:50 PM
246 Replies, 173,048 Views
Sub 50 min 10k at altitude
20-03-2019 12:35 AM
by MarkCo
Last post by TheEd
21-05-2019 04:38 PM
42 Replies, 1,629 Views
Working towards my first sub 45 10K
19-01-2019 07:41 PM
Last post by TheEd
21-05-2019 08:57 AM
18 Replies, 2,326 Views
Sub 35
27-12-2011 12:01 AM
by jamieh
Last post by TheEd
07-05-2019 01:02 PM
668 Replies, 351,041 Views
5km Training - Want to be XC Ready by...
05-03-2019 11:24 AM
by dmw9255
Last post by TheEd
11-04-2019 05:57 AM
23 Replies, 1,435 Views
» Recent Blogs
Racing her first 10k races
18-09-2014 01:16 PM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
18-09-2014 01:16 PM
0 Replies, 67,113 Views
Intro to the athlete, MrsDuck
11-08-2014 11:16 AM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
11-08-2014 11:16 AM
0 Replies, 60,806 Views
Steve Jones Record
13-04-2014 12:46 PM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
13-04-2014 12:46 PM
0 Replies, 58,392 Views
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2008 - 2019 Time-to-Run All Rights Reserved