FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Time-to-Run > Country and General Discussion > South Africa > Trail and Adventure
Home Forums Downloads Blogs
Time-to-Run on FacebookFollow TimetoRun on Twitter Running InformationUSA RunningRunning South AfricaRunning New ZealandRunning UKRunning CanadaRunning IrelandDeutsch LaufzeitRunning DenmarkSverige LöpningRunning FinlandTel Aviv Marathon Running Australia Running KenyaRunning EuropeRunning MaltaRunning NamibiaDonate for Training Advice

Race 2 of Spur Gauteng Winter Trail

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-06-2014, 03:09 PM   #1
TheEd's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Ttr Icon Race 2 of Spur Gauteng Winter Trail

The Spur Gauteng Winter Trail Series™ carried on in style as race 2 provided more top notch running on the banks of the magnificent Hennops River. Though temperatures were a little more forgiving than they were at the first race of the Series, it was still an icy morning but Gauteng trail runners came in their droves nonetheless.

After an exciting race 1 last week, the ante was raised with the addition of the 20km XL race in addition to a 12km Long Course Championship race and a 6.5km Short Course race.

In the XL race, it was 25-year-old, Cornel van Heerden who took the spoils by dominating the race to win by over 7 minutes while Nicolette Griffioen romped home in equally dominating fashion to take the win in a time of 02:00:55.

Edwin Sesipi continued where he left off last week and secured his second straight win in the Long Course Championship, winning in a time of 55:52 – more than 10 minutes ahead of his closest competition! The ladies Long Course Championship made for some close competition but Anita O'Brien managed to pip Takalani Ndudani to the finish line. She finished in 01:14:55, just over a minute ahead of Takalani.

In the Men’s Short Course Challenge Race Ryan Mathaba once again proved to have too much in the tank and ran home in a time of 00:29:53 while Penny Taylor retained top spot on the podium in a time of 00:35:39.

The next race of the Series at Segwati has already sold out and promises to bring more excitement as Series leaders can wrap up their wins there. A big thanks to all of you who ran and big thanks to our sponsors, Spur Steak Ranches, adidas, BOS Ice Tea and Protea Hotels for their amazing support and energy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Edwin-Sesipi.jpg
Views:	8857
Size:	86.3 KB
ID:	332  
TheEd is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back  Time-to-Run > Country and General Discussion > South Africa > Trail and Adventure

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


» Recent Threads
To race is but a dream...
04-10-2011 09:45 PM
Last post by shadydaz
20-05-2019 01:23 PM
242 Replies, 172,976 Views
Sub 50 min 10k at altitude
20-03-2019 12:35 AM
by MarkCo
Last post by MarkCo
19-05-2019 05:03 PM
39 Replies, 1,582 Views
Working towards my first sub 45 10K
19-01-2019 07:41 PM
Last post by johanbakx
17-05-2019 06:41 PM
17 Replies, 2,301 Views
coming off base phase/when to up the...
13-11-2012 10:21 AM
Last post by TheEd
17-05-2019 06:05 AM
1,114 Replies, 593,555 Views
Sub 35
27-12-2011 12:01 AM
by jamieh
Last post by TheEd
07-05-2019 01:02 PM
668 Replies, 350,818 Views
5km Training - Want to be XC Ready by...
05-03-2019 11:24 AM
by dmw9255
Last post by TheEd
11-04-2019 05:57 AM
23 Replies, 1,404 Views
» Recent Blogs
Racing her first 10k races
18-09-2014 01:16 PM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
18-09-2014 01:16 PM
0 Replies, 67,064 Views
Intro to the athlete, MrsDuck
11-08-2014 11:16 AM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
11-08-2014 11:16 AM
0 Replies, 60,734 Views
Steve Jones Record
13-04-2014 12:46 PM
by TheEd
Last post by TheEd
13-04-2014 12:46 PM
0 Replies, 58,329 Views
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2008 - 2019 Time-to-Run All Rights Reserved