Running Headquarters  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Español Consecutivo      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

WMM race down to NYC Marathon

wilson kipsang

Either Kipsang or Kimetto will receive the winner-take-all cheque of $500,000. Fellow Kenyan Rita Jeptoo has already secured the women’s World Marathon Majors title

NEW YORK – The 2013-2014 World Marathon Majors series will come to an exciting conclusion in New York City on Sunday, November 2, with the awarding of $1 million USD to the champions. Kenya’s Wilson Kipsang, who is making his TCS New York City Marathon debut, knows that only a win will enable him to overhaul world record holder and compatriot Dennis Kimetto and be crowned the world’s No. 1 male marathon runner. Either Kipsang or Kimetto will receive the winner-take-all check of $500,000. Fellow Kenyan Rita Jeptoo has already secured the women’s World Marathon Majors title by scoring a maximum 100 points.

In the men’s series, the gauntlet was thrown down at the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON on September 28, as Dennis Kimetto earned his third victory of the 2013-2014 WMM series in world record fashion, timing 2:02:57. With the win, Kimetto scored 25 points to go with his 50 earned by winning the 2013 Tokyo Marathon and 2013 Bank of America Chicago Marathon, springing him to the top of the World Marathon Majors leaderboard. With a cumulative total of 75 points, Kimetto overtook Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) and Kipsang atop the standings and ensured an exciting finish to the 2013-2014 WMM series in New York City.

Kipsang, winner of the 2013 BMW BERLIN-MARATHON and 2014 Virgin Money London Marathon, knows if he finishes any lower than first in New York City, the title and $500,000 prize will belong to Kimetto. Kipsang will face tough competition in New York City, including the 2011-2012 WMM champion Geoffrey Mutai (KEN). Mutai is the defending TCS New York City Marathon champion and set a course record of 2:05:06 in 2011. Lelisa Desisa (ETH), currently fifth on the 2013-2014 WMM leaderboard and the 2013 Boston Marathon and World Championships silver medalist, is also running.

In a Kenyan sweep of the WMM titles, first place on the women’s side was secured in October at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon by Rita Jeptoo (KEN). Jeptoo earned wins at each and every marathon she entered over the past two years, taking home top honours at the 2013 and 2014 Boston Marathon (principal sponsor: John Hancock Financial), as well as the 2013 and 2014 Bank of America Chicago Marathon. Jeptoo is the first athlete in World Marathon Majors history to earn a maximum 100 points, establishing herself as the world’s most dominant female marathoner of the last two years.

Both champions will receive their awards at the TCS New York City Marathon Race-day Media Center at Tavern on the Green on Sunday, November 2, following the post race press conferences.

Points are awarded based on the finish placing of athletes. First place earns 25 points, while second earns 15 points and third 10 points. Finishing fourth and fifth place earns 5 and 1 point, respectively. An athlete’s four best finishes at World Marathon Majors events are added together over the two-year scoring period.