Running Information Forums
NZ Round Up ending 5th March 2012 - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (
+-- Forum: Country and General Discussion (
+--- Forum: New Zealand (
+--- Thread: NZ Round Up ending 5th March 2012 (/Thread-NZ-Round-Up-ending-5th-March-2012)

NZ Round Up ending 5th March 2012 - TheEd - 05-03-2012

Athletics, Mt Smart Stadium – 3 March 2012
Tama Toki was in striking form in the sprints winning the 100m as he liked in a swift wind assisted time of 10.38s (+4.1). He came back later in the programme and won the 200m in equalling convincing fashion in a legal time of 21.22s (+1.8).
Frazer Wickes flew around the 400m in 48.44s. Ellie McCleery of Hamilton, the national W16 and secondary schools 400m champion, won the women’s 400m in 57.92s. McCleery had earlier finished second to Zoe Ballantyne in the 200m. Ballantyne collected the sprint double clocking 12.48s (+3.1) in the 100m and 25.14s (+5.9) in the 200m. Ben Moynihan won the M20 1500m in 4m 3.03s.

New Zealand Masters Championships, Mt Smart Stadium – 2/5 March 2012
Sally Gibbs broke her own W45 5000m record of 17m 9.95s set last year in winning in 16m 46.97s. Gibbs also won the 1500m in 4m 48.52s. Colleen Brunker set a W80 hammer throw record of 23.34m, breaking Ngawini Pepene’s record of 19.52m. Tulip McRoy set a W65 2000m steeplechase record of 10m 45.58s, breaking D Cumming’s 1999 record of 10m 53.95s. Beverly Savage set a W65 discus throw record of 22.08m, however she has a pending record of 23.02m from the Waikato Bay of Plenty championships in Tauranga two weeks ago. These better the 1988 record of 21.98m held by H May. Last week in Hamilton Savage set a W65 hammer record of 34.86m.

Pakuranga 5km Series, 27 February: Simon Riley 17m 13s, Ryan Edwards 17m 49s. Alysha Blackwell 20m 7s.
O’Hagan’s Viaduct 5km, 28 February: Jared Bowden 16m 43s, Darren Meredith 16m 53s. Jo Carrell 19m 7s.

Eastside 5.1km River Run, 28 February: Cameron Hall 18m 36s, Grant Budd 18m 39s, Brad Tucker 18m 39s. Lynn Hodgkinson 21m 23s.

5km Series, 28 February: Thomas Trollope 19m 8s. Katy Dawson 19m 27s.

Off-road Half Marathon – 4 March 2012
Angus Bell, 2007 national mountain running champion, was a clear winner in 1h 12m 38s from Phil Murray 1h 15m 55s and national road and 10,000m champion Stephen Lett 1h 17m 27s. Sarah Biss, national U/20 cross country champion in 1996, won the women’s half in an impressive 1h 18m 27s. Maria Bentley, 2010 New Zealand half marathon champion, was second in 1h 22m 17s with national W19 cross country champion Mikayla Nielsen third in 1h 26m 59s. Penny Purcell won the half walk in 2h 24m 13s with Michael Edgcombe the first male in 2h 25m 5s.

Mountain to Surf Marathon – 4 March 2012
Grant McLean took his third straight victory in 2h 31m 33s, from Bruce Edwards 2h 37m 15s and Chris Corney 2h 41m 0s. Melissa Norris was the first woman in 2h 52m 24s from Kirsten Milne 3h 3m 21s and Katrin Gottschalk 3h 4m 38s. Joff Hulbert won the marathon walk in 4h 26m 59s from Albie Jane 4h 36m 13s. Denise Stewart-Jacks was the first woman walker in 4h 49m 12s from Robyn Wolfsbauer 4h 49m 38s.
Black Programme, Newtown Park Stadium – 3 March 2012
Held in stormy conditions, meeting still went ahead. Hassan Roble M20 10,000m 33m 35.95s, Hayden Shearman SM 10,000m 33m 56.52s.

Lifestyle Sports Waterfront 5km Series, 28 February: Levente Timar 15m 44s, Adam Steinmetz 17m 13s. Nicole Walker 19m 54s. First walker Natasha Murrihy 29m 28s.

Honest Lawyer 5km Series, 27 February: Steve Hawkes 17m 50s, Matthew Dunn 18m 9s. Colette Read 19m 34s.

Twilight Meeting, Caledonian Ground – 3 March 2012
Megan McPhail won the W20 100m in 12.60s (+5.5) and 200m in 25.77s (+2.8). Fiona Hely won the senior sprint double in 12.44s and 25.80s. Daniel O’Shea had the senior sprints to himself in 10.96s (+2.3) and 22.27s (+2.8). Robert Jopp won the M17 100m in 11.25s (+2.3) and 200m in 22.60s (+2.8). Matthew Robinson clocked 48.24s over 400m. Christopher O’Connell M17 javelin 42.20m and triple jump 11.33m (+3.3). Dean Rusbatch M20 shot put 14.99m. In the 1500m Rachel Kingsford recorded 4m 44.05s and Dougal Thorburn 4m 7.64s. Christina Taylor ran an impressive 7m 3.22s in the 2000m steeplechase. Roseanne Robinson race walked 3000m in 13m 50.54s.

Southland Track & Field Championships, Surrey Park – 3/4 March 2012
Gideon Barnard was the best performer with wins in the high jump (2.00m), 100m (11.47s, wind 1.5) and long jump (6.45m, wind 2.0). Greer Alsop made it a clean sweep of the women’s jumps, winning the high jump (1.65m), long jump (5.03m, wind +4.7) and triple jump (11.64m wind +1.9) as well as running second behind Rebecca Peterson in the 100m. Peterson won the 100m and 200m while brother Michael was best over 200m (23.57s) and 400m (53.63s). Hannah Adamson (Inv) was fastest woman in the 800m with 2m 19.62s and Jordan Rackham (Inv) won the men’s 800m and 1500m. The weekend’s best race however was a battle of the ages, as near 50 year old Ricky Gutsell (Gore) and 14 year old Jack Beaumont (Winton) stayed locked together throughout the 800m. Younger legs prevailed as Jack edged ahead of Ricky on the line, finishing with just 0.5 seconds ahead to take second place. Gutsell is more known as a marathoner, having won the Southland marathon five times in the past six years. Tori Peeters won the women’s javelin with 40.80m, Michael Mitchell had the best men’s javelin with 44.86m while Ashley Craig impressed in the hammer with 42.43m.

Former national women’s sprint champion Emma Fay Stigley from Tinwald, and recently resident of Nelson died in Wellington on 24 February 2012, aged 98.
As Fay Gudsell, representing Canterbury, she won the New Zealand women’s 100 yards title in 1935 in Wanganui in a time of 11.4s.