Running Information Forums
sub 20 min 5k - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 5km Training (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-5km-Training)
+--- Thread: sub 20 min 5k (/Thread-sub-20-min-5k)

Pages: 1 2

sub 20 min 5k - Bleary7 - 16-04-2012

Hello,
I just stumbled upon this site while searching for the best way to break 20 minutes for the 5k. I've been frustrated with my inability to achieve at that speed.
I'm a senior college student without tons of time on my hands, I run 4-5 days/week and I recently (last 3 weeks) started doing speedwork: short/hard hill workouts and longer intervals on the track (1 mile or 2 mile). I did a 7 mile run two days ago, which is my longest so far this spring. I cross country ski race in the winter and run very little.
I competed on the cross country running team for my college for 3 years and, although we mostly raced 6ks, in the most recent 5k I ran for them a year and a half ago I came in at 20:22. My fastest 5k is something like 20:12 or so. I really want sub 20!
A runner since I was about 10 years old, I know I am not injury prone. I don't recover very quickly from hard workouts and too much distance/intensity (running daily combined with alternating days of hard and easy workouts) will very quickly overtax me and slow me down while my peers get faster and faster.
I'm signed up for a 4 mile race in 2 weeks, so I'll have to sneak that into my training, otherwise I'd like to do this sub 20 min race in June, if possible.
I ran a 5k in January in <21:30 minutes without having ran all winter.
I would appreciate any advice you'd be willing to offer!

sub 20 min 5k - TheEd - 16-04-2012

Hi Bleary7 and welcome to the forums

breaking 20 minutes is a 'decent' goal to have as it leads to so many things from there ..