Running Information Forums
10k training for a PB - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: 10k training for a PB (/Thread-10k-training-for-a-PB)

Pages: 1 2

10k training for a PB - goldfeld - 06-07-2009

Hi,

I was hoping for some guidelines for the 10k sub-40 program.

First some info:

I've been running on and off for several years, including a half-marathon and marathon, and some triathlons. Never ran a 10k official race.

I started on the 10k sub40 program and I'm now at day 16 (easy 40min).

I've not been running regularly for a while, so for the first cycle decided to cut-off 20-30 percent off of each training session.

Interval sessions:

the 5X2k: did 2 sets of 8min 2k's. was a course with steep uphills. decided to end the session at the middle of the third set.

the 1k's: decided in advance to do only 4 sets. results:
3:45
3:35
3:38
3:26

the 5k paced run: 19:22. Felt like a near race effort, so, guess I did not adhere to the program's advice.

I'm still struggling a bit with the longer runs - getting used to them, but keeping it at a relaxed pace.

I have a polar RS200, though the battery is dead, so won't be having HR data until I get a new one.

Would appreciate any thoughts, as well as recommendations for day 19 (race day) of the program.

Cheers Smile

Just found an old thread I opened a year ago:

http://www.time-to-run.com/forums/showthread.php?t=104

From looking at the results I had back then, I can only surmise that either

1) I'm in better shape than I thought

or

2) The 1k course I used back then (both for the 1k's and the 2k's) was inaccurate.

or (which is likely) both.

Cheers,
J

10k training for a PB - TheEd - 06-07-2009

welcome back J