Running Information Forums
10k sub 45 mins - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: 10k sub 45 mins (/Thread-10k-sub-45-mins)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

10k sub 45 mins - Leroy - 18-10-2009

Hi

I have been running on and off for a few years and am currently running 10k at around 48-50mins. I am 'ambitiously' attempting the sub 45 min programme. I have just attempted the 4 x 2k's in 8 min 50s. I did this although it was on a treadmill set to enable me to complete in the time (no quicker or slower). This however was a real struggle and although I completed I suspect this wouldn't have been the case on the road.

I am due the 1hr 30min run tomorrow which I will feel more comfortable with, but as I suspect the real effort and benefit with the programme is the interval training (something I've not previously done).

Is the use of a treadmill on an interval day to assist with timing recommended or should I get out on the road and attempt this?

Thanks
Lee

10k sub 45 mins - TheEd - 19-10-2009

Hi Leroy and welcome

sorry I missed this earlier .. in reply .. you can do the session on the treadmill as a number of users train as such during the winter months so it is quite the norm for a lot of the program users here

if you are able to do the session on a tartan or grass oval occasionally then all the better however the treadmill is used a fair amount by others

A slight elevation of the treadmill was recommended, so explore that as well

ever so slight, this will then provide more for what you would experience outside

You welcome to provide feedback of your training if you wish so

Regards

TheEd

10k sub 45 mins - Leroy - 22-10-2009

Hi Ed

Thanks for your comments. Today was 1k time trial day with times of;

4m 19s
4m 09s
4m 24s