Running Information Forums
Sub 45 Min 10k Goal - Advice much appreciated - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Sub 45 Min 10k Goal - Advice much appreciated (/Thread-Sub-45-Min-10k-Goal-Advice-much-appreciated)

Sub 45 Min 10k Goal - Advice much appreciated - TigerSmith - 07-11-2018

Hello.

I'm 45 years old, 6ft and weigh around 76kg.

I've been running on and off for seven years.

My best times so far are:

5k 23:10 (in September 2018)
10k 48:44 (in 2013)
Half Marathon 1:54 (last Sunday 4th Nov 2018)

I typically run 3 or 4 times a week, maybe a 5,5,10k and then a long run on Sunday, but don't stick to any particular approach. For the HM training I upped the easy long run by 1km a week to 20km over 12 weeks.

I don't currently cross train and do very little 'speed' work, but do walk a lot.

I have right-side 'runners knee' and have seen a physio (in August) who gave me some exercises to do which have definitely helped but occasionally the pain returns.

This site seems different to others, with a different approach to training which interests me.

During the HM last Sunday at 7k I experienced a sharp pain in my outer left calf. The pain subsided and I was able to finish the race. I went for a fairly quick 5k this morning and there was no pain anywhere.

There is a local parkrun on Saturdays, I've only been once, years ago. I've entered the Adidas Fulham 10k on 18th Nov.

Any guidance on getting my 10k time down generally would be much appreciated!

I should add that running 10k at 4:30 pace seems a long way off...

Sub 45 Min 10k Goal - Advice much appreciated - TheEd - 08-11-2018

Hi Tiger, and welcome to the forums, thanks for all the data