Running Information Forums
Sub 50min Queries - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Sub 50min Queries (/Thread-Sub-50min-Queries)

Sub 50min Queries - Clare - 01-08-2010

Hi Ed,

I'd like to ask some very basic questions about the Sub 50min program. I've run a couple of 10ks but never followed a structured training plan before. I'd like to now though and this seems like one of the better and definitely one of the less complicated plans.

I take it 'R' means stop running completely, or does it mean jog at an easy pace? (yes I'm very new to all this!).

Where the program says 'at 10k pace', does that mean at the pace at which I hope to complete the 10k on race day (for example 4.55 per k)?

If I cannot yet run 2k in 9.50 x 3 cycles (to do so is on the edge of my capability at the mo) would it be better to focus on improving my 5k time before embarking on the program proper?

Finally, I am a shift worker and would need to juggle the program a little, for example every 8-10 days I can't train for a couple of days (12-hour nightshifts!). Can the program tolerate a certain amount of adaptation?

By way of background my PB is 52.58.

Many thanks,
Clare Smile

Sub 50min Queries - TheEd - 01-08-2010

Hi clare and welcome

congrats on making the commitment to run a sub 50 minute 10km and good luck with the venture

yes R stands for REST

and yes, 10k pace is anticipated 10km race pace

however, what you could do is a 4 km time-trial and then provide feedback so that I can adapt your training to suit your ability

the first 8 days of the program are the most important training wise and we would need to juggle a fair amount to accommodate the 'shifts', nothing wrong with trying to find a suitable pattern for you