Running Information Forums
Advice needed please - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Advice needed please (/Thread-Advice-needed-please)

Advice needed please - Gus - 28-09-2010

Very good morning,

I have only recently discovered this website and found it extremely useful – thank you.

Whilst I do appreciate that this particular thread has been discussed countless times, I would however like to get a bit of personal advice.
I was thinking to start the Sub 45 programme however, before doing this, I want to be sure that I’m on the right track. I have been running for the past 15 years or so, however I have never followed any kind of programme (actually I did for a small period of time but only because I was a football referee and we had a coach who arranged training schedules for us). Basically, I go out every single morning at 6am and do approximately 8.5k at a rather easy pace (about 5.30 per km), but on a Sunday I normally increase my distance to approximately 13k [keeping the same pace]. In the last month or so, I have tried to increase my pace and a couple of days ago I ran 10km in about 47 minutes. I would really love to improve my performances and start to get into something serious but, as I said above, I want to be sure to follow the correct schedule.

Would you advise the Sub 45 or should I start with the Sub 50 and see how it goes? Moreover, I don’t normally do rest days and I was wondering whether this may have a negative impact on my performances?

With thanks in advance.

Advice needed please - TheEd - 28-09-2010

Hi Gus and welcome to the forums

it looks as though you have a fairly good background and should find going onto the sub 45 minute 10 km program