Running Information Forums
How to train - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: How to train (/Thread-How-to-train)

How to train - Raginglynx - 08-10-2010

Hi!

I've been running since June 2009. My program has been a mix of running 2 interval exercises a week at around 5 km and in between that 3 runs in the aerobic zone at 7 km and 1 run at 11 km. That leaves 1 day a week off.

That has been my weekly program for more than a year.
When I started reading at this site I pretty soon realized it's ok to improve by intervals, but that you need a little time for recover and build up.

To give you some of my data (I can also hand over Garmin forerunner 50 data) I've run four races this year. I list them below.

March 10.5 km time: Something between 45 and 46 min
May 21 km time: 1:40:51
August 10 km time: 39:53
September 10 km time: 39:45

Thing is, I really want to reach below 35 min on 10 km.
If someone could help me with that I would be more than grateful.

Since I live in Sweden, now is the time where it gets really cold and no races are arranged. However, last year I ran at the snow and didn't slow down. But what I mean is - Should I take it easier at this time of years since there are no races?

How should I adapt to the sub 35 program at my individual point of view.
I'm used to running both at target heart rate and target pace.

Like I said before it's no problem for me to hand out garmin data with tempo, distance and heartrate.

Currently I'm in China. And where I am here most of the time I only have access to a treadmill with different programs. But I've researched and it seems I will also gain access to a 400 meters track in the future.