Running Information Forums
what now? - sub 45 minute 10k or half marathon trg? - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: what now? - sub 45 minute 10k or half marathon trg? (/Thread-what-now-sub-45-minute-10k-or-half-marathon-trg)

what now? - sub 45 minute 10k or half marathon trg? - bankie - 20-11-2010

Hello TheEd! I'm Relatively new to running and after just my second 3 week session on the sub 50 10k programme I went 49:36 last race day. So what next? Logic suggests stepping it up but I might aim for a series of halfs in the spring. Advice welcome? Best, Bankie

what now? - sub 45 minute 10k or half marathon trg? - TheEd - 20-11-2010

Hi and welcome to the forums bankie

OK .. going towards the sub 45 minutes 10km program should be 'doable'

however we will need to change the pace of the intervals

so for the session - 4x2k R90-2min 9min 30 to 9 min 40 (4.45 to 4.50 per k)

with the 6x1k R60 - 90 4min 35 to 4min40 per km

other than that how have your longer runs been and your recovery between sessions? Have you been able to do the sub 50 program without any complications?

Cheers and congrats

TheEd

what now? - sub 45 minute 10k or half marathon trg? - bankie - 21-11-2010

TheEd,

tks for the advice. This suggests an incremental approach towards sub-45min rather than starting on the sub-45min programme outlined on the site?

I've been very surprised overall with the programme as I have attained the goal much quicker than I would have imagined. My pace on each of the four longer runs has become successively quicker: 5:40p/km with the last on (20km distance - 108mins) being 5:20p/km.