Running Information Forums
Going for sub 37 10k - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Going for sub 37 10k (/Thread-Going-for-sub-37-10k)

Pages: 1 2

Going for sub 37 10k - mausman4 - 07-02-2020

My 6 month goal is to run a 37 min 10k.

I am just getting into running but I have a decent amount of fitness from paddling coming in.

Currently following the sub 40 10 k plan (first cycle, day 9). I wasn’t able to finish day 3 (perhaps due to fatigue I accumulated from day 1&2, not that I went particularly hard on them, but it was my first time running for many months).

Last night I did the 6x1k sessions at 3:50/k and those felt pretty good (got up to 85% of my max hr).

RE: Going for sub 37 10k - TheEd - 08-02-2020

Welcome to the forums mausman, are you able to give more background detail regarding your running, so for the future we know what your longest run etc .. PB's and the like

if you have not been running when coming into the program, we will need to be cautious, there is no need to follow the program to the letter

Day 3 to Day 8 are the most important and we can juggle things. If the first cycle gets you running and motivated great, but we must be careful coming back too quickly

have you any heart rate detail feedback for the 1k session

steady as we go

TheEd

RE: Going for sub 37 10k - mausman4 - 11-02-2020

Hi Ed, thanks for the warm welcome.

I wasn't able to get my exact heart rate data, but during the 1k run parts, I would reach low 180's (180-185) bpm (max hr of 214 bpm). During the 60s rest, my heart rate would come down to about 145.