Running Information Forums
Time to improve - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Time to improve (/Thread-Time-to-improve)

Time to improve - MMor - 08-05-2021

Hi,

I just ran the 4k Time trial on the road this morning.

Splits: 3.50, 3.50, 4.05, 3.56 (a slight headwind on nr. 3)

Heartrate fluctuating 163-167. It was really hard, and I couldn't quite keep up the pace I started out with.

I've been running for 12+ years, and 6-7 years ago I had some decent racing times from 10km to the marathon.

But for the last maybe 5 years, I've pretty much retired into just jogging for 40-60 min each day. Injuries and general lack of motivation are to blame.

But the past doesn't matter. I want to look forward and try to settle into your program and hopefully improve my times drastically once again Smile

So, based on my 4K test,  I've figured out my 2K pace to be just around 4min pr km and will start the sub 40 min program the coming tuesday.

Sound ok?

RE: Time to improve - TheEd - 10-05-2021

welcome to the forums MM

sounds like a plan, the 2k session can be quite a brutal session on your own, so now would be a good time to recruit some training partners for the future 2k sessions

good luck and enjoy

TheEd
ps.. good starting point ffrom your 4k time-trial

RE: Time to improve - MMor - 13-05-2021

Hi,

So here's a little update:

Day 1: 70 min easy @ 4.51 (HR avg 135)

Day 2: 30 min v. easy - no watch

Day 3: 5 x 2 KM R 90

7.34 (HR end 158 - HR start next 110)

7.34 (161 - 113)

7.34 (165 - 115)

7.35 (166 - 120)

7.38 (166)

Well, very nice session. I was much faster than my TT indicated, but I haven't run any speed for years now, so I was extremely rusty during my TT last week, which might have explained the slow pace.