Running Information Forums
Sub 40min 10k starting advice - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Sub 40min 10k starting advice (/Thread-Sub-40min-10k-starting-advice)

Pages: 1 2

Sub 40min 10k starting advice - DrewMartin - 13-02-2011

Hello,

First thanks for the great site, data found here is amazing.

I haven't been running for about 2 months I tapered off from 20 to 25 miles a week ending in mid December. I ran consistently last year and turned in 5k race times around 21 minutes and a 10k race time of 43:07. I have been doing interval and plyometric type training for 2 months 5 to 6 days a week. I would like to start the Sub 40 program but am wondering if I should start with the rest period schedule before diving in? Or should I start the program?

Thanks.
Drew

Sub 40min 10k starting advice - TheEd - 13-02-2011

Hi DrewMartin and welcome to the forums

depending on your current fitness and the workload you will be able to cope with will determine your training

so you want to aim at the sub 40 minute 10km program however I would recommend that you run a 4k time-trial and then for the first 3 week-cycle we put you onto the sub 45 minute 10km structure and revamp it after that cycle

going straight into 5 x 2k is enough to put the bravest newbie off

so if you agree to this advice we can march forward

run 4k time-trial .. give time and we on our way

TheEd

Thanks!

Ran the trial today at the track and was humbled big time. It was pretty windy but I definitely felt slow. Here are the splits:

Split. Avg HR
3.55 156
4.14 157
4.20 154
4.30 155

Endurance definitely not there. I felt pretty weak during this almost like my body was shocked that I was running again Smile