Running Information Forums

Full Version: sub 50min 10k a realistic goal?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
A little bit about my background:
I've been running a lot since 2007 and have concentrated in training mostly for marathons so I thought 10k might be a nice change Smile I don't know a lot about training for shorter distances so I turned to internet for advice.

2008: Marathon in 4:56
2009: Marathon in 4:34

10K PB is about 54min.

This year I haven't been training specifically for a race, but I still average about 40-50km/week with one longer run on the weekends (1.5h-2h time on the feet). I occasionally include some speedwork in my training, but not nearly as much as I should :whistle:.

Decided to sign up for a 10k race since I really haven't trained for anything as short before. My PB is from 2009 and was ran two weeks after the marathon.

I'm currently looking at the sub 50min training program as a starting point and would like to know if that's a realistic goal.
I currently run about 4-6 days a week, but I also crosstrain 2-3 days a week with weights or other physical activities (tennis, rock climbing etc).

I'm running the 4k time trial tomorrow, but I don't have a track nearby. I'll probably run it on flat ground and let my HR monitor keep track of the distance Smile Should I provide data for "laps" or should I just post the final results?
Hi and welcome to the forums sinkpet

you have provided a lot of good background info and the more data you provide back from your 4km time-trial the better for me to be able to provide advice more specific to you.

from the amount of training you are currently doing and (judging from your feedback, you should be able to slot into the sub 50 minute 10 km schedule quite effectively

till your further 4km feedback

TheEd