Running Information Forums
Hi! Excited to improve and be a part of the group! - Printable Version

+- Running Information Forums (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums)
+-- Forum: The Training Zone (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-The-Training-Zone)
+--- Forum: 10K Training Feedback (https://www.time-to-run.com/forums/Forum-10K-Training-Feedback)
+--- Thread: Hi! Excited to improve and be a part of the group! (/Thread-Hi-Excited-to-improve-and-be-a-part-of-the-group)

Hi! Excited to improve and be a part of the group! - KPFortMyers - 02-05-2022

I am a 42 yr newbie to running! 
So... I was a D1 hockey player that had 5 knee surgeries and broken femur. 
I was told NEVER run! It would lead to fusing my knee... So i listened. 
At 30, I started CrossFit and then due to my Type "A" began competing. I did great! Limited running of course! 
I was out of shape and feeling sorry for myself when I hit 40. 
My wife is a runner. She never believed my "no running" statement and guilted me into it. 
I started walking in September 2021. Then I cried tears of joy when I finally ran 1 mile (12:45) in October. 
Dropped 39 pounds, and got healthy! I put in the WORK! I focused on building base and studying form, breathing and not wasting miles! 
I ran my first 5K on Thanksgiving, 26:48. 
I ran my first half marathon in January, 2:13:40. 
I ran my first 10K in February, 55:32.
My next adventure is a Olympic distance triathlon in July. 
I am on day 9 of the sub 50:00m 10K. I have already seen improvements with LT and V02Max. 

My goal is to run the 10K ion July 17 at a sub 50:00. This will be after swimming and biking, so it won't be easy! 
There are no easy days and I welcome suggestions, feedback and encouragement. 

KP

RE: Hi! Excited to improve and be a part of the group! - TheEd - 02-05-2022

Hi KP and welcome to the forums