Running Headquarters  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Español Consecutivo      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Keitany wins third New York City Marathon title

mary keitany - new york city marathon

USA – 6th November 2016 – Sunday’s New York City Marathon had Mary Keitany displaying her finese in winning the 2016 title, for a hat-trick of wins. In the Men’s race the young Eritrean, Ghirmay Ghebreslassie, displayed his supremacy in galloping to a claer victory over his rivals.

Ghirmay Ghebreslassie and Mary Keitany New York City Marathon Champs

Keitany became the first woman to win three straight titles since Grete Waitz won five straight from 1982 to 1986. She pulled away around the 15th mile and finished with an unofficial time of 2 hours, 24 minutes, 26 seconds — one second behind her time last year.
Ghebreslassie finished his debut in New York with a time of 2:07:51

For most of the course, the men’s field was a three-man race between Ghebreslassie, Kenya’s Lucas Rotich and Ethiopia’s Lelisa Desisa. By Mile 20, Ghebreslassie began gradually pulling away.

The 20-year-old beat Rotich by 62 seconds to become the youngest male winner in New York. The previous youngest male winners were Alberto Salazar in 1980 and Tom Fleming in 1973, who won as 22-year-olds.

Defending champion Stanley Biwott of Kenya withdrew at the 10-mile mark with a right calf injury. He also dropped out in the Rio Olympics after getting sick.

American Abdi Abdirahman placed third.

Desisa, the runner-up in New York in 2014 and a two-time Boston Marathon winner, dropped out at the 22nd mile.

Tatyana McFadden won the women’s wheelchair race to sweep the four major marathons for the fourth straight year.

The 27-year-old American finished with an unofficial time of 1:47:43. She completed the Grand Slam by winning in London, Boston, Chicago and New York, extending her record streak to 17 straight wins in major marathons.

McFadden, who won six medals at the Rio Paralympics, took the lead for good at the 15-mile mark and comfortably led the rest of the course to win for the fifth time in New York.

Marcel Hug of Switzerland won his second NYC Marathon title in the men’s race and his sixth marathon this year. He edged Australia’s Kurt Fearnley by sixth-tenths of a second, repeating their photo finish at last month’s Chicago marathon.

Defending champion Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa came in fourth.

source NY Times

New York City Marathon Top 10 Men

01 Ghirmay Ghebreslassie 2:07:51     ERI
02 Lucas Rotich      2:08:53     KEN
03 Abdi Abdirahman       2:11:23      USA
04 Hiroyuki Yamamoto     2:11:49     JPN
05 Shadrack Biwott      2:12:01     USA
06 Tadesse Yae Dabi      2:13:06     ETH
07 Moses Kipsiro      2:14:18     UGA
08 Tyler Pennel          2:15:09     USA
09 Ben Payne             2:15:46        USA
10 Patrick Smyth      2:16:34     USA

New York City Marathon Top 10 Women
01 Mary Keitany     2:24:26     KEN
02 Sally Kipyego     2:28:01     KEN
03 Molly Huddle     2:28:13     USA
04 Joyce Chepkirui     2:29:08     KEN
05 Diane Nukuri     2:33:04     BDI
06 Aselefech Mergia     2:33:28     ETH
07 Lanni Marchant     2:33:50     CAN
08 Neely Gracey     2:34:55     USA
09 Sara Hall             2:36:12     USA
10 Ayantu Hailemaryam     2:37:07     ETH