Running Headquarters  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Español Consecutivo      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Kipyego takes Tokyo title

Michael Kipyego Tokyo Marathon 2012

Michael Kipyego Tokyo Marathon 2012

Kenya’s Michael Kipyego tore up the script to win the Tokyo Marathon with former world record holder Haile Gebrselassie left floundering in fourth.

The former 3000m steeplechase specialist Kipyego clocked a winning time of two hours, seven minutes and 37 seconds for his first marathon victory.

Gebrselassie broke away from last year’s winner Hailu Mekonnen before the 36-kilometre mark but Kipyego powered past the fading Ethiopian with around four kilometres to go.

The result leaves Gebrselassie’s Olympic hopes in doubt after three Ethiopians ran below two hours and five minutes in the Dubai Marathon last month.

Gebrselassie finished in a disappointing time of 2:08:17 after targeting a sub-2:05 run to boost his chances of securing a spot on the Ethiopia team for this year’s London Games.

“I could run another marathon in two weeks,” Gebrselassie told reporters. “I felt fantastic for the first 30 kilometres but then I had some problems at the end of the race.

“The last 5km was the worst I’ve ever run,” the Ethiopian, who lost his world record to Kenyan Patrick Makau (2:03:38) five months ago in Berlin, added. Gebrselassie’s previous record stood at 2:03:59.

Japan’s Arata Fujiwara boosted his chances of making his country’s Olympic squad by finishing runner-up in 2:07:48 after passing Uganda’s Stephen Kiprotich in the final stretch.


Men: 1. Michael Kipkorir Kipyego (KEN) 2hr 07min 37sec; 2. Arata Fujiwara (JPN) 2:07:48; 3. Stephen Kiprotich (UGA) 2:07:50.

Women: 1. Atsede Habtamu (ETH) 2:25:28; 2. Yeshi Esayias (ETH) 2:26:00; 3. Helena Loshanyang Kirop (KEN) 2:26:02.

Speak Your Mind