Global Running Events  Global Running Events
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Legends to be inducted

Daley Thompson

Daley Thompson

IAAF Hall of Fame – 12 legends to be inducted

Council approved the names of 12 athletes who will compose this year’s induction into the IAAF Hall of Fame which was inaugurated last year as part of the IAAF’s centenary celebrations.

The very strict minimum criteria agreed last year to select the inaugural list of 24 members – click here for ‘class of 2012’ – was at least 2 Olympic or World titles plus at least 1 World record. This criteria was extended for ‘2013 and beyond’ to allow athletes whose achievements had an ‘extraordinary impact on our sport’ to be considered as well. All members must have been retired from the sport for a minimum of 10 years.

To keep the process as independent and as transparent as possible the athletes considered for each induction are proposed by the IAAF Hall of Fame Selection Panel which consists of 5 athletics historians, all long-standing members of the Association of Track and Field Statisticians (ATFS) including its President. The Panel is chaired by IAAF Senior Vice President Bob Hersh, who has himself been a member of the ATFS for more than 35 years.

The 24 inaugural members inducted in 2012 will be joined in 2013 by the following dozen athletes with the ceremony taking place on Saturday afternoon (16) in the Fairmont Hotel.

Harrison Dillard
Marjorie Jackson
Hannes Kolehmainen
Natalya Lisovskaya
Svetlana Masterkova
Noureddine Morceli
Parry O’Brien
Marie-José Pérec
Viktor Saneyev
Yuriy Sedykh
Daley Thompson
Grete Waitz

Of these 12 inductees Marie-José Pérec and Grete Waitz have been selected for their extraordinary impact on our sport.


  1. […] Legends to be inducted is a post from: Time-to-Run Global News […]

Speak Your Mind