Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Korir and Lewandowska take Great Ireland

Iwona Lewandowska - Great Ireland Run

Japheth Korir of Kenya and Iwona Lewandowska of Poland were convincing winners of the men’s and women’s races at today’s SPAR Great Ireland Run in the Phoenix Park, Dublin.

In sunny, warm and breezy conditions Lewandowska dominated the women’s race from gun to tape and ran home in 33 minutes 39 nine seconds, nine seconds clear of European cross country champion Sophie Duarte of France. Allesandra Aguilar of Spain was third and local favourite, Fionnuala Britton of Ireland was fourth in 33:54.

44 year old former European cross country champion Catherina McKiernan finished in an excellent seventh place in 35:03.

In the men’s race, Japheth Korir, the World cross country champion was comfortably in control from 4k onwards and kept Britain’s Andy Vernon at bay. Korir crossed the line in 29:12 with Vernon seven seconds behind. Michael Shelley of Australia was third in 29:33. First Irishman was Mark Hanrahan from Leevale in Cork in sixth place in 30:20.

The elite men’s mile was won by defending champion Paul Robinson of Ireland who finished in 4 minutes 2 seconds, two seconds ahead of his compatriot John Travers who was a further two seconds ahead of Britain’s Ross Murray.




1.       Japheth Korir (Kenya)   29:12
2.       Andy Vernon (Great Britain)   29:19
3.       Michael Shelley (Australia)   29:33
4.       Abdellatif Meftah (France)   29:47
5.       Mattew Hynes (Great Britain)   30:01
6.       Mark Hanrahan (Ireland)   30:20


1.       Iwona Lewandowska (Poland)   33:39
2.       Sophie Duarte (France)   33:48
3.       Alessandra Aguilar (Spain)   33:49
4.       Fionnuala Britton (Ireland)   33:54
5.       Helen Clitheroe (Great Britain)   34:31
6.       Diana Martin (Spain)   34:43



1.       Mark Hanrahan (Leevale AC)   30:20
2.       Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrocks)   30:44
3.       Thomas Fitzpatrick (Tallaght AC)   30:47
4.       Alex Bruce Littlewood (Leevale AC)   30:55
5.       Brian Maher (Kilkenny City Harriers)   31:05
6.       Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham WSAF AC)   31:29


1.       Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC)   33:54
2.       Catherina McKieran (Annalee AC)   35:03
3.       Sarah Mulligan (Dundrum South Dublin AC)   35:20
4.       Kate Cronin (Raheny Shamrock AC)   35:57
5.       Michelle McGee (Brothers Pearse AC)   36:02
6.       Ciara Durkin (Skerries AC) 36:34

Speak Your Mind