Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Record year for Dingle Marathon 2014

dingle marathon 2014

The Dingle Marathon run under bright and sunny conditions on the 7th September 2014, was a resounding success for the 1800 plus entrants of the distances ranging from half marathon to marathon and inclusive of the ultra distance of 80 km.

Record Day for Dingle Marathon events

On a day of records, both for entries as well as a new course record for the marathon winner, Gary O’Hanlan, who covered the 42km route in a staggering 2:29:58 some 8 minutes quicker than the previous record. The women’s title was won by Orna Dilworth in a time of 3:13:52.

A record 1461 participants completed the half marathon, with John Meade winning in 74:50 and the Women’s category going to Gillian Cotter in 89:07.

Ultra Distance 80k

Jan Uzik won the Ultra in a time of 6:07:14 and Simone Durry finishing 5th overall and first woman in 7:23:51

A special mention should be made of Gerry Forde, the only wheelchair participant, who battles this beautiful Dingle coastal course.

The most foreign entrants came from the UK with the USA also adding to the plus 300 participants from abroad.

Ken Dunne Race Director

The Dingle Marathon is becoming more of a running festival and Ken Dunne is more than happy with the development of the event, and he stated:

“We are very happy with how the event ran. Has become a flagship event on the running calendar.”

The Kerryman Dingle Marathon Top Results


1    Gary OHANLON           2:29:58
2    Eoin SUGRUE             2:44:24
3    Sean MURPHY          2:50:53


1    Orna DILWORTH            3:13:52
2    Sally FORRISTAL            3:18:31
3    Lean NICHIOBHAIN      3:26:53

Half Marathon

1    John MEADE          1:14:50
2    Ciaran CARR          1:16:54
3    Paul OCONNELL     1:19:16


1    Gillian COTTER          1:29:07
2    Laoise NITHUAMA         1:29:27
3    Aoife QUIGLEY   1:29:30

Ultra Marathon

1    Jan UZIK     6:07:14
2    James SLOWEY       6:23:25
3    Thomas BUBENDORFER      6:54:01


1    Simone DURRY       7:23:51
2    Catherine GUTHRIE          9:05:01
3    Lillian DEEGAN          9:12:49



  1. […] Record year for Dingle Marathon 2014 is a post from: Time-to-Run Ireland […]

Speak Your Mind