Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Brent Lakatos and Diane Roy win Para-athletics Track titles

Brent Lakatos

Moncton, N.B. – Brent Lakatos of Dorval, Que., and Diane Roy of Sherbrooke, Que., won a pair of Para-athletics national titles on day two of the Canadian Track and Field Championships. Lakatos won gold in the wheelchair T53 200 and 1500-metres while Roy took gold in the women’s events bringing both of their total gold medal counts at these Championships to four.

Track event finals on day two began with the men’s and women’s 400-metres. Daundre Barnaby of Brampton, Ont., used a strong homestretch run over the last 100-metres to take the men’s title in a time of 45.96. Carline Muir of Edmonton, Alta., claimed the women’s title, her 3rd outdoor 400-metres Canadian Championships, winning convincingly in 52.13.

With their wins in the 100-metres final, Gavin Smellie of Etobicoke, Ont., and Crystal Emmanuel of Toronto, Ont., each claimed titles as “Fastest Man and Woman in Canada.” Smellie was able to hold off a talented group of sprinters to cross the line in 10.37. Emmanuel claimed her third 100-metres national title running 11.47 into a 0.7 m/s headwind. “I’m going to the Commonwealth Games and will try to bring home a medal for Canada,” explained Emmanuel.

Defending national champions in the 3000-metres steeplechase, Matthew Hughes of Oshawa, Ont. & Jessica Furlan of Regina, Sask., each succesfully defended their crowns. Hughes and Furlan put in strong moves over the last couple of laps to pull away from their respective fields to secure convincing wins. Furlan’s time of 9:55.71 was good for a new Canadian Championship record.

Jessica O’Connell of Calgary, Alta., and Cameron Levins of Campbell River, B.C., proved to be the class of the 5000-metres fields. Levins ran alone for the majority of his effort and came up less than a second short of Sean Kaley’s 13:15.16 Championship record. “I’m looking forward to what’s going to come later in the season, I think this is a good step for me.”

In field events Julie Labonté of Sainte-Justine, Que., and Tim Nedow of Brockville, Ont., backed up their Shot in the Dark titles from last night with wins in the discus competition. Over at the triple jump, Caroline Ehrhardt of Espanola, Ont., and Patrick Hanna of Montreal, Que., took home national titles with jumps of 13.06-metres & 14.86-metres.

Men’s high jump, featuring Commonwealth Games teammates Derek Drouin of Corunna, Ont., and Michael Mason of Nanoose Bay, B.C., went as predicted. Drouin, the 2012 Olympic and 2013 World Championship bronze medallist cleared 2.28-metres on his way to victory. Mason was second.

Elizabeth Gleadle of Vancouver, B.C., improved her Championship record in winning the women’s javelin with a throw of 60.62-metres. The previous mark of 60.12-metres was set by Gleadle in 2012.

In para-athletics throws, Christel Robichaud of Moncton, N.B., set a Canadian record in the F56 category wheelchair discus with a toss of 15.10-metres.

Day 2 Canadian Champions


Crystal Emmanuel – 100m – 11.46
Djami Diallo – T34 para wheelchair 200m – 40.04
Becky Richter – T51 para wheelchair 200m – 1:02.56
Jessica Frotten – T53 para wheelchair 200m – 35.51
Diane Roy – T54 para wheelchair 200m – 31.51
Carline Muir – 400m – 52.13
Diane Roy – T54 para wheelchair 1500m – 3:46.16
Jessica Furlan – 3000m Steeplechase – 9:55.71 Championship Record
Jessica O’Connell – 5000m – 15:47.35
Julie Labonté – Discus – 51.94m
Becky Richter – F51 para wheelchair Discus – 5.99m
Martine Sandoval Gustafson – F52 para wheelchair Discus – 8.85m
Christel Robichaud – F56 para wheelchair Discus – 15.10m Canadian Record
Jessye Brockway – F57 para wheelchair Discus – 18.57m
Kellianne Richardson – F36 para ambulatory Discus – 11.52m
Jennifer Brown – F38 para ambulatory Discus – 30.05m
Heather Cowley – F44 para ambulatory Discus – 19.09m
Vanessa Murby – F11 para ambulatory Discus – 21.59m
Kellianne Richardson – F36 para ambulatory Discus – 11.52m
Caroline Ehrhardt – Triple Jump – 13.06m
Elizabeth Gleadle – Javelin – 60.62m Championship Record


Gavin Smellie – 100m – 10.37
Austin Smeenk – T34 para wheelchair 200m – 30.88
Brent Lakatos – T53 para wheelchair 200m – 26.00
Colin Mathieson – T54 para wheelchair 200m – 26.29
Daundre Barnaby – 400m – 45.96
Dustin Walsh – T11 para ambulatory 800m – 2:09.22
Jared Broughton – T13 para ambulatory 800m – 2:20.17
Jonathan Furey – T37 para ambulatory 800m – 2:41.84
Brent Lakatos – T53 para wheelchair 1500m – 3:20.70
Alexandre Dupont – T54 para wheelchair 1500m – 3:20.79
Matthew Hughes – 3000m Steeplechase – 8:32.33
Cameron Levins – 5000m – 13:25.70
Jason Dunkerley / Josh Karanja – T11 visually impaired 5000m – 16:09.91
Tim Nedow – Discus – 54.77m
Jon Van Veen – F33 para wheelchair Discus – 9.15m
Ryan Bennett – F34 para wheelchair Discus – 14.72m
James Brace – F56 para wheelchair Discus – 17.24m
Issa Ouedraugo – F57 para wheelchair Discus – 23.50m
Patrick Hanna – Triple Jump – 14.86m
Derek Drouin – High Jump – 2.28m
Caleb Jones – Javelin


  1. […] Brent Lakatos and Diane Roy win Para-athletics Track titles is a post from: Time-to-Run Canada […]