Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Coolsaet takes 2011 Canadian 10km

Reid Coolsaet and Dayna Pidhoresky crowned 2011 Canadian 10km Champions

Reid Coolsaet takes 10k title

Reid Coolsaet takes 10k title

TORONTO – Reid Coolsaet of Hamilton, Ont., and Dayna Pidhoresky of Tecumseh, Ont., won the 2011 Canadian 10km Championships today in Toronto, Ont., held in conjunction with Canada Running Series’ Oasis Zoo Run and the Timex National Road Race Series Finale.

In the men’s 10km race Reid took the Canadian crown for his third Championship title this year. Over 10km’s Reid clocked 29:33.7 for the victory. Eric Gillis of Antigonish, N.S., finished just behind Reid for silver in 29:41.3 and Oakville, Ont.’s Giitah Macharia finished with the bronze in 30:13.7.

The women’s race crowned a new Canadian champion today where Dayna Pidhoresky won the title in 33:44.7. Megan Brown of Guelph, Ont., and Malindi Elmore of Kelowna, B.C., took silver and bronze respectively in 33:52.7 and 34:23.6.

In the Timex National Road Race Series Finale Bevin Kennelly of Regina, Sask., won the women’s individual 10km race in 35:16.6; Dylan Wykes of Vancouver, B.C., took the men’s title in 30:19.7.

British Columbia won all three team titles in the Timex Series Finale; this includes the men’s team, women’s team and overall team (top two men and top two women).

Placing Men’s Team Women’s Team Overall Team
1. British Columbia British Columbia British Columbia
2. Newfoundland Saskatchewan Nova Scotia
3. Ontario Ontario Saskatchewan