Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

NACAC Cross team 2012

18 athletes named to 2012 NACAC Cross Country team

NACAC Trinidad

NACAC Trinidad

Athletics Canada announced today the athletes that will travel to Port-of-Spain, Trinidad for the 2012 North America, Central America and Caribbean (NACAC) Cross Country Championships to be held Saturday March 17. Port-of-Spain was good to the squad which competed at last year’s edition with the junior men and women taking gold and the senior men and women winning silver. 2012 returnees Cameron Levins (senior men) and Maria Bernard (junior women) won silver and bronze respectively.


Thelma Wright, Head Coach of the NACAC Cross Country team has a clear objective for her squad. “The goal is to win the team competition in Trindad and it is attainable. We will be led by two-time national champion and 2011 NACAC runner up Cameron Levins.” Wright is hopeful the junior squad will benefit from a great experience. “The juniors have their sights set on the World Junior championship later this summer, having seniors and juniors together on this team will develop a great sense of national team spirit, displaying the value of training and working together for common goals.”


2012 Canadian NACAC Cross Country Team


Name Hometown Coach
Senior Men 8km
Barry Britt Hampton, N.B. Wayne Phipps
Colin Fewer Harbour Main, Nfld. Steve Boyd
Saheed Khan Toronto, Ont. David Christiani
Cameron  Levins Black Creek, B.C. Eric Houle
Samuel Pawluk Richmond, B.C. Marek Jedrzejek
Jerry Ziak Vancouver, B.C. Indépendant
Junior Men 6km
Corey Bellemore Tecumseh, Ont. Dave Scarrow
Dylan Brown Newmarket, Ont. Derek Hackshaw
Ryan Cassidy Grande-Digue, N.B. Joël Bourgeois
Benjamin Flanagan Kitchener, Ont. Peter Grinbergs
Aaron Hendrikx Parkhill, Ont. Steve Weiler
Troy Smith Grimsby, Ont. Sharon Stewart
Junior Women 4km
Maria Bernard Calgary, Alta. Marek Jedrzejek,
Terry Crook
Cleo Boyd Kingston, Ont. Steve Boyd
Jillian Forsey Kippens, Nfld. Ray Will
Kansas Mackenzie Vancouver, B.C. Chris Johnson
Michelle Molodynia Niagara Falls, Ont. Sharon Stewart
Hilary Stafford London, Ont. Dave Mills