Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Ahouchar, Koech win Copenhagen Marathon 2015 titles

Hassane Ahouchar - Copenhagen Marathon

The victory in this year’s Nykredit Copenhagen Marathon went to Hassane Ahouchar of Morocco who finished strong in 2 hours 15 minutes and 34 seconds. Nancy Jebel Koech from Kenya was the fastest woman, and with a time of 2:33.42 she delivered one of the fastest times in race history.

The 36th Nykredit Copenhagen Marathon was eventful throughout, with perfect weather conditions and the crowd cheering on the runners till the very end.

Moroccan Strength in Men’s Elite Race

Today was a close race being led by Joel Maina Mwangi from Kenya and Fikadu Kebede Debele from Ethiopia for the first 35km. At this point the race favourite Hassane Ahouchar of Morocco picked up the pace and caught up with the front runners before passing them and finishing in a strong 2 hours, 15 minutes and 34 minutes.

Just 14 seconds later Fikadu Kebede Debele (ETH) finished a well deserved second after leading almost the entire race alongside Joel Mwangi (KEN) who had to settle for fourth behind Lahcen Mokraji (MO).

Stable Women’s Elite Race

Kenyan Nancy Jebel Koech managed her efforts well today, leading a group of three for most of the race. They kept an even pace, for a good long while staying within the race record of 2h:30:53. At the 30 km mark the group slowed down somewhat, but in the last 3 km Nancy found her second wind and left everyone behind. The thrilled Kenyan finished an impressive 3 minutes and 24 seconds before our second place finisher Mulunesh Zewedu Assafa of Ethiopia. Although the finish time was not enough to beat the race record, Nancys time is the second fastest time in race event history.

Winners of the Nykredit Copenhagen Marathon 2015

1. Hassane Ahouchar, MOR – 2:15.24
2. Fikadu Kebebe Debele, ETH – 2:15.38
3. Lahcen Mokraji, MOR – 2:18.50
4. Joel Maina Mwangi, KEN – 2:19:09
5. Ababy Girma Tadesse, ETH –  2:22:55

1. Nancy Jebet Koech, KEN – 2:33.42
2. Mulunesh Zewedu, ETH – 2:37.06
3. Hellen Jepkosgei Kimitai, KEN – 2:39:05
4. Yeshumie Ayalew Ejigu, ETH – 2:39.26
5. Malene Munkholm, DEN – 2:48:34

Race Facts

Nykredit Copenhagen Marathon has been organized non-profit by Sparta Athletics & Running since 1980.
11,734 runners participated in this year’s race, which started and finished on Islands Brygge. The course takes runners from Islands Brygge through the inner city, Østerbro, Nørrebro, Vesterbro and back to Islands Brygge.
Race records are 2h:14:16 set it 1987 by Svend Erik Kristensen (DEN) and 2h:30:53 set in 2010 by Coleen De Reuck (USA). Participant record for the race is 12,644 from 2010, while last year saw the highest number of finishers of 9,670.
Nykredit Copenhagen Marathon only allows for one distance: 42,195 km.
The race is messured and certified by The Danish Athletic Federation and the International Association of Athletics Federations, IAAF.
Main sponsor since 2010 is Nykredit, while Nike, High5 and Marathon Sport are co-sponsors. Politiken is official media parther.
Other partners and sponsors include Pågen Bakery, MINI, Arp-Hansen Hotel Group, Erdinger Alkoholfrei, Ultimate Sports Service and BitLizzard Software.
Nykredit Copenhagen donates all surplus food to Fødevarebanken and left behind clothes to Red Cross.

Speak Your Mind