Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Australian Paralympic Committee select team

Australian Paralympic

Australian Paralympic

The Australian Paralympic Committee has today confirmed the selection of 36 athletes to compete at the 2012 London Paralympic Games.

Announced by Chef de Mission Jason Hellwig as part of a Competition Education and Training Camp being held in Brisbane (Qld) this week, the announcement follows the approval of nominations by the Athletics Australia and the selection of these athletes by the Australian Paralympic Committee Board of Directors as set out in the Athletics Australia Nomination Criteria.

Hellwig said: The team we’ve announced today is a credit to the work of Andrew Faichney and the team at Athletics Australia, it’s arguably the strongest on record and one that we have great optimism about.

“The Australian Paralympic Committee has done all that it can to ensure the best possible environment for athletes selected, it’s our aim to bring thirteen different sports under one team umbrella and we are on track to do that.

“To all those we’ve announced today I say congratulations. Your work to date has been a credit to you and your support neyworks and we are excited about how you will represent your country once we arrive in London.”

Andrew Faichney, the Paralympic Preparation Program Manager at Athletics Australia, added: “Congratulations to all the athletes selected today, you should be very proud of your achievements to date and I look forward to sharing the journey with you.

“This team is an extremely strong group and I know you will all represent your sport, and Australia, exceptionally well come the start of the Games in London.”

Evan O’Hanlon, who is the 100m and 200m reigning Paralympic gold medallist and world record holder for athletes with cerebral palsy (class: T38), is one athlete that has his London start confirmed after today’s announcement.

O’Hanlon said: “The official selection today means that we are one step closer to the big show, and that’s really exciting.

“Every four years athletes look to peak at the right time and deliver at the Paralympic Games and at this stage I’m on track to do that. My squad, and no doubt the whole team, is in a pretty similar situation and there will be a few surprises from the Australians so stay tuned.

“I’ve decided that I’m only running the 100m and 200m in London. The program doesn’t allow for me to finish off with the 400m like I had hoped and that’s a little disappointing. Realistically though the short sprints are my two main events and I want to come home with two gold medals and two world records just like I did from Beijing.”

The 2012 Paralympic Games will be held in London (GBR) between August 29 and September 9, with athletics competition commencing on day two of competition.

The Australian Paralympic Committee has today confirmed the selection of the following thirty-six athletes:
Angela Ballard                                Jake Lappin
Carlee Beattie                                 Rosemary Little
Georgia Beikoff                               Rheed McCracken
Damien Bowen                                Richard Nicholson
Kelly Cartwright                               Evan O’Hanlon
Matthew Cameron                          Simon Patmore
Richard Colman                              Katie Parrish
Gabriel Cole                                    Kristy Pond
Christie Dawes                                 Katherine Proudfoot
Madison de Rozario                         Scott Reardon
Rachael Dodds                                Michael Roeger
Jodi Elkington                                  Brad Scott
Louise Ellery                                     Russell Short
Kurt Fearnley                                    Matthew Silcocks
Jessica Gallagher                            Stephanie Schweitzer
Sam Harding                                    Lindsay Sutton
Todd Hodgetts                                  Jack Swift
Madeleine Hogan                            Erinn Walters

Speak Your Mind