Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

NZ Round Up May 8th

Stuart Farquhar 2nd in Japan

Stuart Farquhar 2nd in Japan

Golden Grand Prix, Kawasaki – 8 May 2011
Twice Olympic Games and world championship representative Stuart Farquhar of Hamilton was second in the javelin throw.
Farquhar sent the implement out 81.14m. Yukifumi Murakami of Japan won with a throw of 82.90m.
Farquhar has a best of 85.35m set in Hamilton in February 2010.
In the men’s 4 x 100m relay the New Zealand team of Isaac Tatoa, Alex Jordan, Tim Jones and Ryan Howe were seventh in 41.80s while in the women’s 4 x 100m relay New Zealand’s team of Rochelle Coster, Andrea Koenen, Louise Jones and Nneka Okpala were fourth in 46.12s. Japan won both relays, recording 38.78s in the men and 43.39s in the women.

Trofeo Zerneri Acciai IAAF World Combined Events Challenge, Desenzano del Garda – 7/8 May 2011
Brent Newdick finished second in the decathlon with a score of 7780 (100m 11.32s -1.7 791, long jump 7.09m -0.5 835, shot put 14.33m 749, high jump 1.89m 705, 400m 50.42s 795, 110m hurdles 14.74s +3.3 881, discus throw 44.21m 751, pole vault 4.65m 804, javelin throw 62.12m 770, 1500m 4m 37.11s 699).
Scott McLaren was 15th with 6971 (11.83s -0.4 685, 6.42m -1.8 679, 14.05m 731, 1.86m 679, 51.13s 763, 16.14s +1.1 717, 40.42m 673, 4.35m 716, 53.00m 633, 4m 37.63s 695.
The event was won by Luiz Alberto de Araújo of Brazil with a score of 7858.

Warm up throwers meeting Nouméa – 4 May 2011
Highlights from the warm up competition before the 35th NCL Throwers Cup meeting on 7 May.
Jacko Gill competing with an injured finger was out to 20.98m with the 6kg shot, 36cm outside his world best for a 16 and 17 year old and 1.75m outside the world best for 18 and 19 year old held by David Storl. However despite the injury setback Gill threw further than his world junior championships winning effort of 20.76m in Moncton Canada last July.
Damian Smuts 44.66m discus, 55.37m hammer and 13.70m shot put.
Johan Smalberger 67.78m javelin throw. Matthew Bloxham PB 37.60m M16 700g javelin throw. Adam Miller M19 discus 46.83m.
Millie McNie 50.71m hammer throw. Sarah Button 40.10m discus and 44.36m hammer.
Tina Hakeai 46.90m discus throw and PB 38.08m hammer throw. Richard Callister PB M16 hammer 51.26m.

Burnard Electrical Steeplechase, Hawkes Bay Showgrounds – 7 May 2011
Neville Smith won the senior men’s 6000m in 20m 31s, while Ross McIntyre won the masters 6000m in 21m 14s. Andrea Williams won the masters women 4500m in 19m 54s from Annie Kane 20m 16s. Keiko Hashiba won the senior women’s 4500m in 20m 42s. Monica Burnard won the W19 3000m in 12m 10s and Charlie Chittenden won the M19 4500m in 17m 34s.

University Relays, QEII Park Paekakariki – 7 May 2011
Wellington Scottish won every relay, except the junior men. The senior men’s team in the 4 x 3.5km cross country event was Josh van Dalen, Rees Buck, Ben Barry and Jesse Patel.

Lionel Fox Memorial Relays, Woodend Beach – 7 May 2011
University won the senior men 4 x 5km in 1h 8m 46s, fastest times Alex Fowler 16m 31s, Ben Musson 16m 42s. Master men Sumner 1h 11m 9s fastest times Gavin Hawke 16m 49s Darren Hoolahan 17m 9s. Senior women University 1h 19m 9s fastest times Whitney Greig 19m 6s, Angie Smit 19m 32s. Master women Port Hills 1h 29m 22s, fastest times Fiona Gilroy 20m 1s, Tracey Crossley 20m 11s. B15 4 x 2.5km Christchurch Avon 34m 24s fastest time Daniel Coats 8m 18s. G15 University 38m 46s fastest time Jessie Anderson 9m 44s.

Lovelock Relays, University Oval Logan Park – 7 May 2011
Caversham won the senior men’s 6 x 1500m relay in 25m 38s. Fastest individual laps Daniel Balchin 4m 10s, Dougal Thorburn 4m 12s, Callan Moody 4m 16s, Hayden Donnelly 4m 16s. Masters won by Leith in 29m 6s, fastest lap Juno Wiparata 4m 48s. Senior women 4 x 1500m won by Hill City in 20m 5s, fastest times Rebekah Greene 4m 43s, Hannah Newbould 4m 52s and Rachel Kingsford 4m 54s. Master women to Leith in 22m 59s, fastest time Louisa Andrews 5m 27s.

O’Hagan’s Viaduct 5km Auckland 3 May: Ross Morrison 15m 31s, Wayne Guest 15m 35s. Alison Bogie 18m 28s, Kate Morrison 18m 42s.
Honest Lawyer 5km Nelson 3 May: Simon Leaning 17m 36s, Stuart Hodgkiss 17m 51s. Colette Reid 20m 5s. Walk Nicki Alexander 38m 9s.
Rat Race 5km Takapuna 4 May: Lydia O’Donnell won outright in 16m 59s. Alan Clinton 17m 12s Peter May 18m 20s and Tara La Grange 19m 17s.

Adventure Trail Run Central Plateau 7 May: 24km Rodney Baldock 2h 9m 7s, Finian Scott 2h 9m 33s, Women Mikayla Nielsen 2h 18m 29s, Demelza Murrihy-Topp 2h 19m 36s. 42km Graeme Lear 3h 27m 20s, women Imogen Inglis 4h 6m 48s.
YMCA Women’s 5km and 10km Auckland 8 May: 10km Nicky Green 41m 52s, walk Helen Meyers 70m 6s. 5km Sophie Rees 21m 3s, walk Shirley Barber 34m 52s.
Racewalking Auckland 20,000m track race Pakuranga 8 May: David Sim 2h 3m 48s, Noel Johnson 2h 26m 13s, Larissa Wildsmith 2h 33m 3s.
Pencarrow Lighthouse Half Marathon Wellington 8 May: Matt Parsonage 1h 22m 52s, Fiona Dowling 1h 42m 6s.

Speak Your Mind