Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Commonwealth and other NZ news

Triple Jump

Triple Jump

Commonwealth Youth Games – 9/11 September 2011
Greer Alsop of Invercargill won the silver medal in the triple jump with her performance of 12.39m. Alsop also competed in the long jump where she finished fourth with 5.83m. Dalton Coppins won bronze in the 200m in 21.75s. Chei Kenneally won the bronze medal in the shot put with 12.96m.
New Zealand results:
Day 1 of athletics 9.09.11: Kodi Harman 100m 3rd heat 1 11.11s (+0.7), 7th semi-final 2 11.12s (+2.5). Blair Grant 100m 5th heat 3 11.09s (+1.4), 7th semi-final 1 11.13s (+3.4). Tom Symes 400m 3rd heat 1 49.89s, 4th semi-final 2 49.88s.
Day 2 10.09.11: Kodi Harman 200m 2nd heat 3 22.45s (+4.1), Dalton Coppins 200m 1st heat 4 21.42s (+7.2). Tom Symes 400m 6th final 50.40s. Kieron McDonald 800m 1st heat 4 2m 6.27s. Richard Callister discus throw 10th 46.17m. Madison Gipson 200m 4th heat 6 24.98s (+4.2), 100m hurdles 3rd heat 1 14.12s (NWI) 6th final 13.99s (NWI). Mackenzie Keenan 100m hurdles 4th heat 2 14.04s (+5.6) 7th final 14.15s (NWI). Kerry White 800m 2nd heat 2 2m 15.07s. Greer Alsop long jump 4th 5.83m (+5.5). Chei Kenneally shot put 3rd 12.96m.
Day 3 11.09.11: Madison Gipson 200m 4th semi-final 2 25.60s (+1.5), Dalton Coppins 200m 2nd semi-final 2 21.64s (+5.8), 3rd final 21.75s (+3.6), Kieron McDonald 800m 4th semi-final 1 1m 56.48s, 6th final 1m 56.27s. Kerry White 800m 4th final 2m 13.80s. Matt Baxter 3000m 7th final 8m 46.39s. Greer Alsop triple jump 2nd 12.39m (+2.3). Kyle Van der Merwe javelin throw 9th 40.49m, shot put 7th 16.04m. Alex Fafeita hammer throw 4th 64.61m, shot put 8th 15.67m. Richard Callister hammer throw 6th 55.47m. Chei Kenneally hammer throw 5th 46.88m.

South Pacific Games Nouméa – 27 August/10 September
Ana Po’uhila won a complete set of medals, gold, silver and bronze, with a win in the shot put 15.72m, second in the discus with 48.22m and third in the hammer with 47.27m. Shaka Sola was third in the shot put with 16.13m and sixth in the discus with 43.01m. Franco Patu was ninth in the javelin with a throw of 50.82m.

IAAF Silver Label 10km Road Race, Prague – 10 September 2011
Zane Robertson finished 12th in 30m 20s. Won by Philemon Limo of Kenya in a course record of 27m 34s. Jake Robertson, still suffering from his fall at the world athletic championships in Daegu, DNF.

World Mountain Running Championships, Tirana – 11 September 2011
Nicole Mitchell finished 18th in the junior women’s 4.9km race.

Mount St. Mary’s 5km cross country duals, Emmitsburg, Maryland – 2 September 2011
Rochelle Sceats (George Mason Univ) was second in 18m 17s.

Pakuranga 5km Series 5 September: Peter Wheeler won in 17m 37s, nine seconds ahead of Gavin Hanson.
O’Hagan’s Viaduct 5km 6 September: Darren Meredith 16m 38s, two seconds ahead of Jason Bray. Nicky Green 18m 7s.
Rat Race 5km Takapuna 7 September: Tara La Grange won outright in 17m 36s, five seconds ahead of Paul Clark.

50th Governors Bay to Lyttelton 10km Road Race – 10 September 2011
Blair McWhirter was the fastest in the senior men’s section in 32m 54s from Mike Phillips 33m 10s and Ross Smith 33m 16s, with Simon Wooding winning on handicap. Fiona Crombie ran in fastest in the women in 34m 22s, from Sia Svendsen 38m 41s and Rebecca Gifford 42m 45s, handicap went to Angela Whyte.
In the master men Martin Lukes was the fastest with 33m 49s, from Richard Seigne 34m 30s and Gary McIlroy 34m 38s, handicap won by Hugh Barnes. Tracy Crossley was the fastest in the master women with 37m 4s, from Fiona Gilroy 40m 13s and Lisa Brignull 40m 32s, handicap won by Diana Illston.

Moro Marathon – 11 September 2011
Sam McCutcheon won in 2h 39m 23s, over four minutes ahead of Will Smith who was second for the second year in a row. Russell Hewitt was third in 2h 55m 26s. Sue Cuthbert won the women’s full marathon in 3h 12m 33s, from Maggie Corr 3h 13m 46s and Meg Christie 3h 23m 57s.
In the associated half marathon Oska Inkster-Baynes won in 1h 12m 34s from Daniel Balchin 1h 13m 28s and Tony Payne 1h 15m 28s. Alexandra Williams won the women’s half in 1h 21m 45s, Sarah Chisnall was second in 1h 26m 10s and Samantha Kingsford third in 1h 29m 22s.

Wanganui Sport Volunteer Awards – Roll Of Honour Awards
Wanganui Athletics stalwarts Alec McNab and Fred Holmes were awarded a roll of honour presentation, along with eleven others, for services to sport in the inaugural induction last Friday.

The roll of honour recognises outstanding achievement given over 25 years service in sport, and all inductees will be listed on an honours board at Sport Wanganui.

Speak Your Mind