Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Hunter-Galvan makes comeback in Christchurch

SBS Christchurch Marathon and Half Marathon, Lincoln – 5 June 2011.

Liza Hunter-Galvan

Liza Hunter-Galvan

Liza Hunter-Galvan, in her first race back after serving a two-year ban for using performance enhancing drugs, won the women’s section of the Christchurch marathon by a wide margin in 2h 45m 31s on Sunday.Kate Seibold-Crosbie of Melbourne, the 2006 winner set out at a fast clip but by 5km had eased back and Hunter-Galvan swept through to lead for the rest of the race.

Tracy Crossley was second in 2h 59m 46s.

The 41 year old Hunter-Galvan from San Antonio Texas, who has a best of 2h 29m 35s, won the Christchurch marathon in 1999 in 2h 46m 34s.

Ying Ren Mok from Singapore was the men’s winner in 2h 26m 34s. The triathlete turned marathon runner was aiming for the Singaporean record of 2h 24m 22s.

Phil Costley going for his third victory in Christchurch, was still in contention with 3km remaining but felt the pressure over the closing stages and faded finishing second in 2h 29m 30s.

Dale Warrander from the Gold Coast improved from his eighth placing in last year’s half marathon to win the half marathon a minute quicker in 1h 6m 14s. Dougal Thorburn was a distant second in 1h 9m with Brett Tingay third.

Danielle Trevis of North Harbour won the women’s half in 1h 13m 37s, 29 seconds slower than her race record in the Auckland half marathon last October. Fiona Crombie was second in 1h 19m 34s with Gabrielle O’Rourke third.

Callan Moody won the associated 10km in 30m 35s from Malcolm Hicks 30m 46s. Shauna Pali won the women’s 10km in 38m 14s from Julie Wilson 38m 38s. Courtney Ruske won the 10km walk in 54m 17s from Phillip Meikle 57m 17s.


Speak Your Mind