Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Jackson continues cross domination

Cross Country

Cross Country

North Harbour Cross Country, Long Bay Regional Park – 29 June 2013

Jono Jackson continued to stamp his authority on the Auckland cross country running scene maintaining his unbeaten record this season with a win in the annual North Harbour event. Brent Henley provided Jackson with some competition over the first of two circuits of the Long Bay Regional Park before Jackson picked up the pace and went on to record 12m 19s for the 4000m. Henley was next in 12m 33s with junior runner Ben Moynihan third in 12m 49s.

Jackson said it was good to get a short sharp run under the belt.

“I’m not really used to doing anything shorter than 10km at the moment so it’s definitely good to get a blow out in your legs and just make sure the speed is there for the last kilometre of the longer races, “ he said.

His next race is the North Island cross country championships in Taupo on Saturday.

“It will be good to see who comes up from Wellington, it should be a good race – I like the course it’s nice and fast,” said Jackson.

Katie Wright won the women’s 4000m in 14m 3s, ten seconds ahead of Sophie Corbidge with Annika Pfitzinger third in 14m 15s.

“It was a good run, it was really fast underfoot. Training is going well, pretty consistent for the first time,” said Wright.

Wright will contest the North Island championship, not the Auckland championship but will run at the nationals.

Ashleigh Williams won the junior women’s race in 15m 15s. Youth winners were Matthew Manning in 13m 13s and Jessica Morrison with 6m 59s for the 2000m.

Speak Your Mind