Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Jonah Smith wins Dunedin Marathon

Dunedin – Jonah Smith won the Dunedin Marathon in 2:33:59 while Oska Inkster-Baynes won the New Zealand Half Marathon Championships run in conjunction with the marathon event.

Jonah Smith wins 41st Dunedin Marathon

Dunedin Marathon, Forsyth Barr Stadium – 1 September 2019
Jonah Smith cut nearly 12 minutes off his previous best time in winning the 41st annual race in 2:33:59. Matthew Moloney ran a four minute PB of 2:34:58 for second with Edoardo Dorigo third in 2:42:48. Mel Aitken was the first woman in 2:55:33 from Tracy Abbott 3:05:02 and Sharon Lequeux 3:15:04. Morgan Tanner won the associated half marathon in 1:18:51 from Nathan Shanks 1:19:00 and James Matthews 1:19:10. Sasha Antunovic was first in the women’s half in 1:25:14, Sonya Cameron 1:25:41 and Kirsty Moffett 1:28:55. Walk; Grant Campbell 2:34:19, Lynda Kelly 2:39:55.

image credit:

Dunedin 10k Results

10km; Oliver O’Sullivan 32:56, Finn Molloy 33:03, Simon Cromarty 33:29. Zara Geddes 40:51, Megan Foster 40:58, Lydia Pattillo 42:11. Walk; Jan Hollis 57:25.

New Zealand Half Marathon Championship, Forsyth Barr Stadium – 1 September 2019

Oska Inkster-Baynes added the national half marathon title to the full marathon title win in Christchurch in June. Inkster-Baynes, previous half marathon champion in 2012 and 2016, finished in 1:09:33, just 16 seconds in front of national junior cross country champion Toby Gualter who debuted in 1:09:49. Mark Paterson improved from ninth place last year to take the bronze medal in a PB 1:12:54. The last male athlete to win the half and full in the same year was Phil Costley in 1999 and he also won the road title that year.

Three times national women’s mountain running champion Sabrina Grogan won the women’s title in 1:24:32. Bella Bloomfield was second in a PB 1:24:43 with Sally Gibbs, the 2014 champion, third in 1:25:17.

Speak Your Mind