Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Blincoe shows form and other NZ news

Adrian Blincoe

Adrian Blincoe

Falmouth Mile and 7 mile Road Race, Massachusetts – 13/14 August 2011
Adrian Blincoe showed good form leading into the world athletic championship in Korea with a fourth placing in the Falmouth mile in 3m 55.47s. Staged on the James Kalperis Track, Jordon McNamara won in 3m 54.89s, from Jeff See and AJ Acosta. Blincoe, who has a best mile of 3m 54.40s in Italy in 2003, will be competing in the 5000m for New Zealand at the world championships.
Leonora Petrina finished 15th in the 7 mile road race in 38m 51s, with Laura Nagel 20th in 39m 35s.
Lorraine Moller won in 1986 in 36m 54s and Anne Hannam won in 1988 in 36m 36s. Rod Dixon won in 1980 in 32m 20s.

Nuten Opp Mountain Race, Rosendal – 7 August 2011
Jonathan Wyatt won the 3.7km +897m event in 37m 20s. Wyatt holds the race record of 35m 25s set in 2008. Antonella Confortola Wyatt was second woman in 43m 51s, won by May Britt Arches in 43m 20s.

Skaala Opp Mountain Race, Loen Nordfjord – 13 August 2011
Jonathan Wyatt was second in the 8.2km +1848m event in 1h 10m 6s. Ahmet Arslan of Turkey won in a new race record of 1h 7m 38s.
Wyatt held the previous race record of 1h 8m 30s set last year. Antonella Confortola Wyatt won the women’s race in 1h 23m 5s.

Throwers Club Meeting, Sovereign Stadium – 13 August 2011
Richard Callister set an Auckland M16 hammer throw record of 54.31m, adding 2.13m to Joseph Waugh’s 1999 record. Callister also won the M16 discus throw with 47.43m, an event he will represent New Zealand in at the Commonwealth Youth Championships at the Isle of Man early next month. Nicholas Gerrard won the M19 shot put with 15.35m and also the discus with a personal best of 40.58m. Adam Miller had a PB of 15.24m in the M19 shot and a PB in the hammer with 49.54m. Julia Ratcliffe won the women’s hammer with 55.48m, Nicole Bradley had a PB of 48.93m in second and Ella Pilkington also had a PB of 45.44m in third. Bradley won the senior shot with 11.72m. Ana Po’uhila Kisina won the women’s discus with 47.34m and Damian Smuts collected the senior hammer with 48.63m and the discus with 44.09m.

John Riddell Memorial Relay, Ambury Farm Park Mangere – 13 August 2011
The ACA Bosses were the fastest team in the 4 x 5km relay in 1h 2m 49s, two minutes faster than the Wesley Warlocks with a further four minutes to the Wesley Wanderers. Fastest 5km laps were put up by Jono Jackson with 15m 16s and 15m 18s, Liam Scopes 15m 38s and Jonny McKee 15m 48s and 15m 49s. Georgie Gregec recorded 18m 34s and Bridget Lenting 19m 27s.

O’Hagens 5km Series, Viaduct Basin – 9 August 2011
Alex Parlane won in 15m 53s, from James Kuegler 16m 7s. Rachel Bowie won the women’s section in 18m 32s.

Rat Race 5km, Takapuna – 3 August 2011
Andy Hughes won in 16m 26s, with Tara La Grange leading in the women in 18m 50s.
Rat Race 5km, Takapuna – 10 August 2011
Andy Hughes with 16m 24s and Tara La Grange 18m 00s won for the second week in a row.

Taupo Half Marathon – 7 August 2011
Chris Sanson won in 1h 17m 21s, 14 seconds ahead of Matthew Jarvis. Rowan Baird won the women’s half in 1h 21m 12s, from Rebecca Forlong 1h 26m 31s and Bridget Deverell 1h 27m 53s.

Bays Relay, Island Bay to Evans Bay – 13 August 2011
Wellington Scottish won the senior women’s relay. Team of Tina Harris, Piret Klade, Angela Leck, Mandy Simpson and Emily Solsberg covered the 22.1km in 1h 23m 55s, over three minutes faster than Hutt Valley. Scottish also won the senior men, their team of Tim Hodge, Stefan Smith, James Richardson, Hayden Shearman and Corey Casey recording 1h 8m 51s, four minutes ahead of their B team. Scottish won the master men and women, with the junior women going to Olympic and the junior men to Wellington Harrier Athletic.

Round the Gorges Relay – 13 August 2011
Timaru won in 4h 17m, 2m 50s ahead of Leith with Canterbury University third.

Otago age-group Road Championships, Wharf Circuit – 14 August 2011
Held in very cold conditions, sleet and snow showers and strong southerly winds. Rebekah Greene won the W19 5km in 17m 12s from Anna Kean 18m 44s and Christina Taylor 19m 3s. Sian English won the W16 5km in 19m 47s, the M16 6km to Samuel Bremer in 21m 39s and The M19 8km to Zach Butler in 28m 29s. The masters W35 was won by Louisa Andrew in 18m 33s and the W50 by Maria Sleeman in 20m 9s. The open non championship 5km was won by Shaun Burgess in 15m 43s from Glen Ballam 17m 6s. The 4km non championship walk was won by Roseanne Robinson in 19m 47s.


Universiade (World University Games) 16 – 21 August 2011
New Zealand Track and Field team:

Hugo Beamish 5000m, Hamish Carson 1500m, Michael Cochrane 400m hurdles, Sarah Cowley high jump and heptathlon, Billy Crayford high jump,
Malcolm Hicks 1500m, Andrea Koenen 100m and 200m, Johan Smalberger javelin, Danielle Trevis 10,000m.

Team manager: Ed Fern. Team coach: David Long.


Saturday 6th August marked the 75th anniversary of Jack Lovelock winning gold in the 1500m at the 1936 Olympic Games in Berlin in a world record time of 3m 47.8s. It was the first track and field gold won by a New Zealander.


  1. […] Blincoe shows form and other NZ news is a post from: Time-to-Run New Zealand […]

Speak Your Mind