Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Butler wins New Zealand Mountain Title

WELLINGTON – New Zealand Mountain Running Championships, Colonial Knob Porirua – 16 April 2011

New Zealand Mountain Running

New Zealand Mountain Running

Dougan Butler made a significant break through in his running career in winning the New Zealand mountain running crown in Porirua on Saturday.

The 21 year old dairy farmer from Inglewood took control of the demanding 13.3km up and downhill course mid-way through the race and went on to win by 43 seconds in 54m 16s.“I’m stoked, I’ve been chasing this one for a while and it has been in the back of my mind I’d like to win,” said a delighted Butler.

Canadian representative James Richardson was second with 2007 champion Angus Bell third in 55m 49s.

The course was made more difficult with the continual rain making the challenging narrow track extremely slippery.

Butler said that the pace was fairly relaxed over the first lap.

“I took over on the second steep climb, James caught me but I managed to pass him again and hold it to the finish,” said Butler.

Butler, who competes for Hawera Harriers, was second in the 2006 junior title race with a third placing in the following two years.

He has been competing since he was 10 and has had the same coach, Warren Drought over that time.

Pre-race favourite Glenn Hughes withdrew after injuring his foot on the first downhill.

Ruby Muir of Tauranga won the women’s title over 8.8km in 42m 40s, beating Tina Harris of Wellington by a wide margin of two and a half minutes.

Sarah Coughlan of Christchurch, who was third in the Kepler Challenge last December, was third 45m 35s. Shay Williamson of Whakatane retained the junior men’s title with Nicole Mitchell collecting the junior women’s title. Grant McLean of Wellington led in the master men’s with Leah Hirschfeld of Pakuranga taking out the master women’s 8.8km.
Senior 13.3km: Dougan Butler (Hawera) 54m 16s 1, James Richardson (Canada) 54m 59s 2, Angus Bell (Tauranga) 55m 49s 3, Stephen Day (Wgtn) 57m 4s 4.

Junior 8.8km: Shay Williamson (Whakatane) 39m 46s 1, Alister Perkinson (HV) 42m 31s 2, Jake Jackson-Grammer (Pal/Nth) 43m 29s 3.

Masters 8.8km: Grant McLean (Wgtn) 39m 56s 1, Nick Hirschfeld (Pakuranga) 40m 32s 2, Paul Forster (Wgtn) 43m 28s 3.

Senior 8.8km: Ruby Muir (Tauranga) 42m 40s 1, Tina Harris (Wgtn) 45m 17s 2, Sarah Coughlan (Chch) 45m 35s 3.

Junior 5km: Nicole Mitchell (Wgtn) 20m 24s 1, Elizabeth Bunckenburg (Wgtn) 22m 34s 2, Kathryn Bunckenburg (Wgtn) 22m 45s 3.

Masters 8.8km: Leah Hirschfeld (Pakuranga) 48m 11s 1, Jane Reedy (UK) 49m 48s 2, Wendy Cottrell-Teahan (Feilding) 51m 3s 3, Sheryne Coverdale Beeby (Olympic) 57m 35s 4.

Speak Your Mind