Global Running News  Global Running News
Injuries and Treatment  Injuries
Nutrition Information  Nutrition
Running Training Information  Training
Running Information Forums  Forums

   Running Information      USA Running      Running South Africa      Running New Zealand      Running UK      Running Ireland      Running Ireland      Deutsch Laufzeit      Copenhagen Marathon      Suomen Juoksu      Sverige Löpning      Tel Aviv Marathon      Running Australia      Running Kenya      Running Europe      Running Malta      Running Namibia

Baxter wins in Australia

Matthew Baxter

Matthew Baxter

Australian Cross Country Championships, Symmons Plains Motor Raceway, Launceston Tasmania – 31 August 2013
Matthew Baxter competing with the Auckland Centre Team produced a standout performance at the Australian Cross Country Championships in Launceston at the weekend by winning the Australian under 20 championships.

In Adelaide last year, Baxter won the schools section of the under 20 – this year he went one better winning the race in commanding fashion, opening a gap in the final 1km that could not be answered by the leading group. He was joined by Sam Bremer and Mike Lowe from the New Zealand Secondary School to take 2nd place in the teams’ competition, behind the winning Victorian team.

Jacob Priddey took the silver medal in the Under 18 grade, running for New Zealand Secondary School. He was closely followed by team mate Shaun Eustace, 5th and Geordie Beamish in tenth position with Jake Tennent 11th.  Tennent was fighting off the effects a viral infection and did well to finish.

The team were first in the teams’ competition, four points ahead of Victoria. On the following day the team finished 2nd to New South Wales in the 5 x 3km relay but were without the service of Tennent. The Under 20 team finished in the same position in the Under 20 grade.

Jacob Priddey produced the fastest of both Under 20 and Under 18 grades clocking 8.45 for the 2 lap race which involved two legs into a strong head wind.

Jean Kozniak was the leading performer for the New Zealand Secondary Schools in the Under 18 grade finishing in 9th position.
New Zealand results:
Matthew Baxter won the U/20 8km title race in 25:53, to beat Zac Patterson of Victoria by 12 seconds. Other New Zealand placings in the U/20 race, Samuel Bremer 12 27:17, Michael Lowe 13 27:21, Finn Wilson 14 27:24, Joshua Baan 16 27:40, Luke McCallum 19 27:54, Nathan Tse 22 28:08.
Vaughan Priddey was second in the U/18 6km in 19:43. Other placings Sean Eustace 5 19:57, Geordie Beamish 10 20:13, Jake Tennent 11 20:14, Marcus Karamanolis 16 20:21, Cameron Avery 20 20:29, Christian Leopard 24 20:32.
Jean Kozyniak was ninth in the U/18 4km in 15:18. Other placings Ariana Lord 18 15:38, Amelia Morgan 19 15:39, Annoke Grogan 22 15:48, Gabrielle Gray 31 16:06, Holly Manning 35 16:18, Marcia Jerram 36 16:19.

Speak Your Mind